Peru: Punta Sal-Huanchaco-Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
December 15th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The border crossing from Ecuador into Peru was easy and the change in landscape was breaktaking. Our first stop in Peru was Punta Sal, a beach town where we camped. When I say ´we´, I mean everyone else but me and two other women. We chose to upgrade for an extra $10 a night so we didn´t have to camp on the beach. I like the beach, but I don´t want sand in my sleeping bag for the rest of the trip. And I´m still kind of nervous about camping seeing as I´ve never done it before. Apparently there are lots of chances to upgrade to a room when we go camping and I will be doing just that. The three days on the beach are a bit of blur because we drank so many cocktails but I know I had fun.

Next stop was Huanchaco, another coastal town. Driving there we passed through the oil region and saw nothing but desert and rubbish. We stopped off at Lambayeque, a museum showing artefacts found in the tomb of the Lord of Sipan. In Huanchaco we visited the ruins of Chan Chan, a huge mud city. After seeing so many ruins in the past six months, I´m pretty ruin´d out.

Tomorrow we leave for Lima where I´ll have to sort out my visas for Paraguay and Brazil.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb