Like a piece of lint


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
December 12th 2007
Published: December 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The end has come to three fantastic months getting to know South America. At 3pm I left the Belly Button of the World (that is what the Inca´s dubbed their central city of Cusco) for a long stretch in the Lima airport. It was difficult to say goodbye after sharing so much time with such a wonderful family and knowing that I will not be back any time soon. Almost everything fit in my baggage and so far it is being allowed onto the plane in its zipper-busting condition.

There is so much to report but so little I can remember right now. My last Sunday I spent the morning in the plaza de armas witnessing what I thought was a unique holiday display of a military parade complete with marching band, city officials and a flag raising ceremony. Apparently they do that every Sunday. I had a good view of all the military action (including large firearms) until the man behind me forced me to give up my standing space my repeatedly and consistently standing very close behind and touching my rear end. Stupid people who stand behind you and do that. That is one thing I can identify that will not be missed about Cusco. Little else. I am bringing home original oil paintings for a fraction of the cost in Canada, I have coca products in my bag (for now), and have now seen most of the remains of the incredible Incan culture.

Advertisement



31st March 2008

wow
Wow katie looks like you had a blast on your adventure. It's great that you had that oppurtunity to experience something like that.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb