La Selva


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » La Merced
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

PapayasPapayasPapayas

Satipo
I didn't pay for a crazy excursion into the jungle. Instead, I met a kid named Michael. Michael is a guy who lives to travel, making jewelry and selling it pretty much all around Peru and South America. We met in Cusco and I practiced my Spanish with him a few times. The first thing I knew about him was that he was from the jungle. When he left Cusco he told me to email him and that we could go to the jungle and eat some fruit. Sounded like a plan to me!

Entonces, I am now in a town called Satipo which is a center for fruit and coffee trade. It's much warmer here than Cusco. I haven't seen another gringo for something like a week. I haven't had a verbal conversation in English with anyone since I last talked to Tai. Last night I slept in up in a jungle farm of Michael's uncle that had no electricity and was unbelievably gorgeous. And this morning I rode in a Toyota Corolla station wagon taxi in the front seat with three other people(two of them being small children), five people plus a puppy in the backseat, and a
RioRioRio

Satipo
baby cow and another dog in the trunk. Totally normal.

Today we spent the afternoon swimming in the river Satipo with a some sisters aged six and seven who seem to love me and have now followed me to this internet cafe. Good times with these little ladies. I've finally gotten a bit of a suntan, or should I say sunburn? I am totally loving Peru.

Tomorrow I'm supposed to be going to see some cool waterfalls and parrots or something like that in Puerto Ocopa. I'll have to let you know what actually happens later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TonTon
Ton

cute but annoying...
LlallaLlalla
Llalla

Jungle farm
LlallaLlalla
Llalla

more jungle farm
CoffeeCoffee
Coffee

drying out
Lions and tigers and bears oh my!Lions and tigers and bears oh my!
Lions and tigers and bears oh my!

Apparently there's bears down there somewhere.
Termite houseTermite house
Termite house

with aliens
Drinking MasatoDrinking Masato
Drinking Masato

fermented yuca drink. this version didn't have saliva, though
Jungle kidsJungle kids
Jungle kids

hanging out by the river
CocoCoco
Coco

yum, young coco juice
CataracasCataracas
Cataracas

Waterfalls which lead to my demise
hace frio!hace frio!
hace frio!

actually, it was really nice in that green lagoon.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Puerto Ocopa


10th August 2008

hey kim!
Great Pix!

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 19; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb