4 day trek to Machu Picchu Day 1


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
April 25th 2011
Published: May 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm sorry I didn't update my blog like I promised. No good excuse, I was really just too busy enjoying myself! We left our stuff at our very cute little hotel, called 'Rumi Punku', and the PeruTreks staff picked us up exactly at 5:20 in the morning. Apparently our little group were the first to be picked up. Then we drove around Cuzco, picking other people up and eventually ended up in the little town of Ollentaytambo. First day started with a somewhat weak breakfast, and a little drizzle. Our passports stamped, our rain ponchos on, we started the first day of climbing, which everyone said was the easiest one. Xavier, went up ahead with the front guide, and I stayed behind with Jeannette, who, to everyone's surprise, was pregnant, but being the superwoman that she is, decided to do the Trek ANYway!. So, we took our time, and made it up to the campsite in plenty of time for a lovely dinner. Xavier and I explored the local ruins, and made ourselves cozy in the tent. Day one ended with a lovely meal cooked by our awesome cook Vidal, and we started to know everyone else in our group (16 people, plus the porters). Everyone was sweet, nice, young and there were no complainers. An excellent group!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb