Machu Picchu - AMAZING!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
June 24th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I´m not going to write a lot tonight. I returned a little awhile ago from Machu Picchu after ten hours of exploring the site and my legs are exhausted.

I left about 6:30 in the morning and caught a bus up the mountain to the entrance. I heard some folks talk about climbing the moutain Wayna Picchu for the beautiful views high above MP. Like an idiot, I said, why not?

I guess it is one of those things that you just can´t pass up if you have the opportunity, but it was incredibly difficult, thought the reward when reaching the top was a spectacular view of the ruins far below. It was the steepest climb I´ve ever undertaken. How the Incas managed to do it, I´ll never know.

Once back down, I explored everything I could in the ruins including things that I hadn´t seen before. I concentrated on video, though I managed to take some good photos along the way. (I´ll try to get those posted tomorrow when I get back to my hostal in Cusco.) I think the video will turn out pretty good.

Not going to write much tonight becauser I am thoroughly exhausted. The trains appear to be running again tomorrow so I head back to Ollantaytambo at 8:30 and then catch a cab or a bus to Cusco. Hope to be there by 1:00 then head up to Sacsayhuaman for the afternoon.

The last big thing on my South American agenda is over now so I am really ready to be home in four days. I miss my family and my friends a lot. Can´t wait to be back in the states even if it is hot!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb