The lost Inca city


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
February 15th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I finally saw Machu Pichu. The old ruins were beautiful and actually really well perserved. The site itself was alot bigger than I thought it was going to be. The day started at 5am and rather than walk the 8km uphill to the site, I took the bus. Near the entrance gate I ran into a guy that I did the Colca Canyon tour with so I tagged along with him and his buddies to explore the ruins. Looking back on it, I probably should´ve forked over the 20 soles for a guide around the ruins because there was alot of information that I think I missed.
I hiked around them for most of the day, including the larger mountain to the south and a little ways up the Inca Trail to the sun gate in the east. Hiking the Inca trail would´ve been a great experience, but it´s wickedly expensive and requires time to hang around Cuzco for a week to get everything organized. Maybe next time!
On the bus ride down, our bus of course followed the tight switch-backs back to the Agnes Calientes village where I was staying. A little boy ran down the stairs in the middle of the switch-backs so that he could way at our bus every single time it rounded a corner. The little kid made it like that all the way to the bottom! Of course the bus picked him up at the bottom and he collected tips from everyone on the bus but it was still pretty funny to see him book it all the way down the mountain.
I was pretty exhausted by the end of the day but still had to catch the train, then the bus, for the four hour ride back to Cuzco. On the way back, we went through an amazing lighting show while it poured rain. All in all, it was a beautiful day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Machu PichuMachu Pichu
Machu Pichu

Waynapicchu is the mountain in the picture and yes, i made it to the top.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb