B: The Plot Has Thickened


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 10th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 in Cusco and many good things have happened since last night. The unfortunate thing is that I haven´t figured out how to download photos, but they will come. After my entry last night I took the advice of the couple I met and lunch and hunted down the "backpackers" hostal (Hostal Loci) and wandered into their bar. I was greeted with a cozy smoked filled room with many accents and stories going around. I did the usual, head straight for the bar and grab a Cusquenos and settle up with the friendliest free seat. Lucky for me it was next to an English speaking Austrian who enlightened me with all kinds of traveling tips. Combined with an Aussie couple we discussed all kinds of great places to see while venturing south.
Bolivia, here I come! But first, today was filled with wandering town researching an alternate 5day/4nt trek to Machu Picchu. After some negotiations with a couple travel agencies I am booked to leave at 4:30 AM tomorrow morning. What a delight! So don´t worry if you don´t hear from me for a few days.
Starting with a 3 hr bus ride out of town, we then load the grub and equipment on some horses and head out for a 7-8 hr day, stopping at 3800m. We then wake and climb the 4800m Salkantay pass for about 10 hrs and pass out on the other side. Next day, another 7 hr "stroll" past Inca ruins and water falls through some supposedly beautiful valleys. Day 4, grind it out to the closest town to Machu Picchu called Aguas Caliente. Spend a night in the hostal and wake at 4 AM in attempts to be at Machu Picchu by sunrise. Upon the return back to A. G. we board a train that I will only be taking for 2 hrs to Ollayantatambo and pass out there while the remainder of the folks will con´t back to Cusco. From here, who knows, but probably more hiking to ruins and mingling with fellow travelers and then further down the Sacred Valley.

Ciao for now! Hopefully I will have figured out how to add photos by the next entry.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb