Wasting away


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 20th 2012
Published: July 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Now that i'm with Sofia (hooray!) we often lament about the price difference between here and Asia - I have been pissing money away. Not that I regret splashing out a few more soles on trying cerviche the other day- it was a bloody bargain away for the huge pile of seafood i got, but i maybe regret a little staying in such fancy expensive hostels, and getting fleeced by every taxi driver I come across. Well no more! We are feeling poor and have pledged to do better.

The poverty may have been inspired by splashing out On a more expensive (well, mid-range) Salkantay trek... But you know what, I don't like being cold and i want a blow up mattress damn it! And an energency horse. I really really wanted an emergency horse included (think Of the gammy knee!)

My turn in the shower, scuse me....

Mmmm, hot shower - its only been a few days and it alrady feels like a novelty. Which it will be when we crack onto the Salkantay trail - we opted for the 4 day 3 night option, skipping the first day, which frankly sounded crap (hiking on a roadside,
KittensKittensKittens

Live in the park, shit in the flower beds
covered in dust, ain´t that special) and included the coldest night (down to -8c). So instead we're gonna go straight into the hardest day. Hooray! Its basically up hill. For miles. In the cold. With a gammy knee. WHOOP! I'm a little scared about the capacity of said knee, but me and my walking sticks (hard to the core) will give it our best effort! Frankly, with the way you get out of breath walking up a slight hill at this altitude (Cusco is 3,400 m/3,400 m 11,200 ft above sea level. Its too high for me to even really know what that is) that's probably more of a concern.

Anyway, we've basically spent these two days in Cusco, organising our crap. And spending money. Got me a fake North Face fleece.. irritatingly it probably cost more than it would've done down Walthamstow market, a handbag that doesn´t break my back, and a classic Peruvian bobble hat which I will likely re-gift when i get back so someone else can look like a twat (any takers?)

Today we're bussing it to Pisac to see some ruins, get a bit of hiking practice in, and generally chill out. We're off to do the trek on Sunday (Friday today), and then heading straight to Puno for Lake Titicaca... so speak to you then!

Oo, and this is our trek if you're interested! http://www.bioandeanexpeditions.com/trekking-tours.php?expedition=peru/salkantay-trek/salkantay-trek/salkantay-trek/salkantay-trek-peru

xx

Advertisement



20th July 2012

Bring the bereta...oh no bring the glock 17!
Hey! Glad you made it there safe and are enjoying the freighting sights. I hope that horse is not one of those pantomime horses that is just 2 People in a suit. Considering all the fake stuff you can get I would not put it past those sneaky Peruvians! I hope your knee holds up too. Just think of all that running training you did. You could have played at orient if it wasn't for the smoking. Just think flood lights and a tea bar! Anyway until next time good luck and miss you already I will leave you with this...... You are off the funkin chain !!!!
21st July 2012

cold
Along with stalking you on the map Itoo am going to spend the night freezing. -6 tonight although I will ne in front of an (indoor) photo. I certainly wont be climbing any mountains - i'll be catching the ski lift. And I too am the proud owner of an (awesome) hat. The cold makes you do crazy things. Am loving the blog. Keeping me entertained on the road. Not quite as entertaining as the giant sheep but hey, I know you'll understand that (giant potato anyone?)
27th July 2012

I have confession... i didn´t actually wear my silly hat (yet). I may re-gift it :) Given how much money we´ve spent so far, it will probably be my only gift!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb