Its been a while...sorry


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 4th 2011
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, sorry I haven't updated in a while, I don't really have a good excuse. But since the last time, I have been to the biggest festival in Cusco (Inti Raymi) pretty Impressive stuff. The whole ceremony is in Quechua, but one of the locals let us see the script in Spanish, so I sorta knew what was going on. It started about 10am in the main square and then we went up to the ruins above Cusco, Sacsayhuamán (pronouced Sexy Woman!) and there was more of a ceremony. It was really hot and sunny and I had hat, sunglasses and factor 50 on the go. It was a fairly steep climb and it was so hot, took it outta me hi! I didnt take great photos of it, it was very crowded so I might buy the dvd! I thought they were going to kill a llama at at end as a sacrifice, but they only pretended. Rage.
Had a pretty relaxed weekend, mostly went around cusco city with friends. A few friends have been on rafting trips but I thought thats something I would like to do with Eoghan so didnt go along.
Been to lots of bars, know some of the staff in the Irish Bar a bit too well, again talked to randomers in the bar but they were on their own too!
Went to a german house party, well there were peruvians there too and some germans. We went into town afterwards but the club was awful so I left early. I met them again the next night for dinner. Being germans they spoke good englsh but we tried to talk in spanish the whole time.
There were a few more random festivals mostly with statues of saints being carried round the square in town and it meant that there was loads of stalls were up and I got offered lots of guinea pig, I have yet to try it. Maybe Ill try it when I find one that doesn't have teeth!
Not much other than that.
Eoghan has arrived now so hopefully we can put some more exciting things up, think we are going hiking and horseriding this weekend anyways!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb