In cusco, safe and sound


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
June 11th 2011
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

10/06 4pm (Cusco time)

I am going to have to type my blog and copy and paste when I get a better internet connection. I am too tired to go looking for one now, but there does seem to be loads of wireless hotspots around. I just want to ask some trustworthy people which to avoid.

As this was only my second entry I better describe how I got to Cusco in the first place.

Heathrow is huge, and I only saw terminal 3. My flight Heathrow-JFK started off well. Food was about edible, lots of drinks offered. I also got a free pillow and blanket at my seat, I was well pleased. Although as you walked through business class to economy you could see the quality of the pillows and blankets decreasing, I did not get bumped up, yet... Eoghan it is gonna break your wee heart when you walk through business class with all their legroom and get to normal seats! Loads of on flight entertainment, you could choose your movie from at least 20. I watched Rango to start. And its not just films. There were 2 episodes of 30 rock and the US office. AND there was games like tetris and a caveman version of pacman that you could play with your controller.

I had a window seat, win! And no one sat beside me, double win.

So all in all, you coulda sent me on that flight and send me back straight away and I would said I had a great holiday.

Problems started happening when we got close to New York. Thunder, or bad weather meant we had to divert, circle around Maine or somewhere like that for like a million times then we stopped at, I think it was called Bradley airport. Where-ever it is, it is about an hour from New York. We weren’t there long in fairness to them but we had to sit on the plane the whole time. Without delays, I only had 3hours before my flight took off. So I was worried but they explained that all flights would be delay.

So I basically legged it when I got off. Going through US customs was not the harrowing experience I thought it would be. I just told the girl what she wanted to know and there wasn’t much of a queue at that time. The bag man didn’t want to look in my bag. So then I had to get on the train to terminal 4, I was at 8, tried to check in my luggage, It was too late. I had to take all my luggage through security. This then meant losing all my liquids over 100ml. I was devestated, I was tired. I wanted to cry. But I didn’t have time. And you don’t argue with airport security staff. Especially in the US. SO I had to throw out my nice auzzie shampoo, shower gel, lots of suncream, toothpaste, mosquito repellant. It was a terrible waste of money but you just cant argue. Luckily I had some mini showergel and mini toothpaste.

I just about caught my New York-Lima flight, which then took ages to take off. It was an overnight flight so I tried to get as much sleep as I could. They gave out headphones and ear plugs and eye masks(I was buzzing off me eyemask) Tried to sleep but it was pretty difficult. I think I got at least 3 or 4 hours but I didn’t turn my phone on at all so I didn’t really have any way of telling the time.

The in flight movies this time were probably even better but I was too tired to watch at the beginning. I got chatting to the lady beside me. She was from Peru so here was my chance to practice spanish. And I done well, we talked about where we were from and why I was going to peru and she said I spoke very well and she could understand me easily. Loured! Towards the end of the flight I couldn’t sleep and settled on watching The Bucket List. Its quite good, a bit sad but the real tragedy is I didn’t get to see the end. We landed. If its not on there on the way back I will not be happy! Emmet might be right, Jack Nickolson does great movies always.

So Got to Lima, quite a nice airport. I tried to speak as much spanish as I could but the crew almost all spoke perfect english. So that was handy. Missed my cusco flight because of delays in my flights so had to get put on another one and had to run about the airport to find someone to take responsible for me. But they did.
So had a bit of time there and tried desperately to get onto the internet there. I paid 5 dollars for a card that I could not get to work for ages. Then I think it did work but not really. I am really sorry for not getting in touch sooner. I was too afraid to phone in case it cost both of us a fortune, which it probably would have.

I though I was gonna get on a shocker of a plane but it was fine. It did do something weird though. It went from Lima-Cusco-Puerto Maldonald. So you could get off at cusco, which I did, or stay on and go to P.Maldonado. I thought it was unusual anyway.

I had got an aisle seat which wasn’t too bad but when I went to sat down a very nice lady said I could sit at the window if I like and I am so glad I did. The views on this flight from Lima-Cusco were amazing. We flew right over the andes. Just spectacular! (am I sounding like a prat yet)
I should have taken photos but my camera was up above. I am so excited that eoghan gets to do that flight in 3 weeks time.

Landed at cusco and went to tourist info. They gave me maps and stuff but they said I would have to get a taxi to where I wanted to go. He was great and he most speak at least 3 languages! There are loads of boys saying “taxi madam” and tourist info man said they would be safe. Turns out they just carry your bag to the taxi and then you get in the official taxi. And then you have to tip him, I was happy to tip him but was just confused as I thought he was my taxi man! The taxi man was really nice too and was patient with me as I wanted to talk in spanish and took me right to the clinic.

Got to the clinic and was greated by the lovely Paulina, who I have been emailing, with a hug and kiss and the other people who work there are all lovely. They dont speak much english at all, but I am getting by quite easily on what I know which I am pleased about. There is one person who works here who lived on London so she speaks english well. After some chatting, I asked to email my family. Internet took a while to get going but once I was on I was fine and thats when I emailed Eoghan and Dad. I will take a wander into town tomorrow and see if I can get to internet cafe or something. I might just leave my laptop here as I can lock the door. I do not want to look to extravagant in town.
Paulina showed me to my room, Grand size, room for 2 more people but I’m the only one here. Toilet attached and shower and kitchen across the hall. I had a nice warmish shower and felt much better after. Then Paulina gave me some coca tea, good for the altitude and sent me to bed. If I don’t rest I will feel really bad with the altitude apparently. So I have spent too much time typing this, I am going to go to sleep. Felt fine until 10 mins ago or so. And I am starting to feel a bit weird. Thats the best way to describe it.
Night night at 5pm local time!

9.30pm I slept like a log and I was woken up for dinner. Paulina had made some nice soup and they put spuds in their soup like we do. I was a bit worried that I would not like it because I know I would have ate it anyway to be polite but it was actually nice. Like a chicken noodle soup (right up your street raymond!)
I was a bit worried that Its great. More coca tea, i quite like the stuff. I helped wash up afterwards despite Paulina saying “va a aprender!” (you came to learn) I just didn’t want to be rude.

Somehow I am still tired and I am bit spaced out so I’m having an early night. It is quite quiet at night as I am a wee bit away from the main square but its good for sleeping!

And in case you are wondering, they do have normal flushing toilets here! At the airport it said not to put toilet paper doen the toilet though so I think i may have to put it in the bin next to it. I must ask them that, what is spanish for “ Do you put toilet paper down the toilet or in the bin next to it?”

11th June 10am Bit of a long boring wan there but Ill go out and do something interesting today and report back with some photos.

Advertisement



16th June 2011

We love Peru
Can't wait to read more about your travels. Hopefully you will post some photos. As nurses we can't wait to hear about your adventure.
18th June 2011

thanks
Thanks for commenting, the fact that strangers are reading my blog makes me a bit nervous. It probably wont be that interesting!! And yeah, I'm starting to love Peru too!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb