Buenos Noches Senors e Senoritas...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

OllantaytamboOllantaytamboOllantaytambo

hiking after being ill...
Hola!!

So we´re still in Cusco at the moment. This would have to be my most favourite place in the world at the moment!! It has cobble stone streets everywhere (with lots of huge hills I might add!!). There is Inca stone in every inch of the place. I am - in a slightly twisted way - lucky that I got sick in Cusco, as I had to spend the time whilst Nick was doing the Inca Trail, here.

I now consider myself Peruvian and a local of Cusco - I wish!! I cannot tell you how beautiful the people are here. When I was sick the hotel staff were so concerned. And still now that I have recovered from the altitude, they still ask of my health.

Nick not only conquered the Inca Trail - he basically flew through it. Nick apparently did it so fast he beat all the porters (who do this trek on a daily basis and pretty much run the trail) to the top of Dead Womans Pass which stands around 4600 m high. Did me proud!

I then met Nick at the Sun Gate for Sunrise which didn´t really happen as
OllantaytamboOllantaytamboOllantaytambo

Nick holding up the Inca stones...
we couldn´t have had a worse day for the weather. There was so much cloud and rain around it was hit and miss with the pictures. However, Machu Pichu was still as breathtaking as I envisioned. We spent around 6 hours exploring it as much as we could - however the later you get - the more tourists seem to arrive.

We have a couple of days to chill out in Cusco and shop (Yeah baby!!) . Yes Jo - I remember you like earrings =)

I honestly think someone up above has a little vendetta against me though as I now have the flu! This better be the last of all this nonsense!!

Anyway - we better be off. only a few photos on here for you!

love yas
nick n jacs xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

OllantaytamboOllantaytambo
Ollantaytambo

The Sacred Valley
Inca TrailInca Trail
Inca Trail

Jacqui-less
Dead Womans PassDead Womans Pass
Dead Womans Pass

Nick did it!!
The Sun GateThe Sun Gate
The Sun Gate

At Machu Pichu on a rainy day!!
Llama...Llama...
Llama...

at Machu Pichu
KiwiKiwi
Kiwi

At Machu Pichu
Long Live Glorious Peru...Long Live Glorious Peru...
Long Live Glorious Peru...

From the window of our room...


3rd August 2008

From the gals back home
Hey guys!! we have just sat down for a few wood fired pizza's and are now wathcing the derby. are we making you home sick? i bet we arnt with all these wickid places you are heading too! making me very jelous with the scenery. hope that your feeling better soon chiky. by the way the parties at your house have been awesome!! hehe. take care love us!!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb