Arequipa, Peru's White City


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
March 13th 2013
Published: March 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My trip to the Colca Canyon and Cruz del Condor was so large that I wanted to write about the city of Arequipa in a separate blog. This actually includes the final day in Puno as well as the time in spent in the White City.

taracloud had done some research and found an interesting day trip to do before I had to leave at 2:30. Not far from Puno is Sillustani, pre-Incan ruins on a hill overlooking Lake Umayo. I wasn't sure what to expect, but since it was something that Tara and I could do together, I was up for it. First we had to negotiate with a taxi driver to take us to the site, wait for us and then bring us back to Puno. Now, when I say we had to negotiate, I mean that I stood there and tried to look fierce while Tara negotiated in Spanish and whittled the price down to a manageable sum. It was a beautiful day as we sped out of Puno on a taxi death trip to Sillustani. I know Tara had mentioned that we were in a hurry, but it seemed as if the driver misunderstood hurry as mission to narrowly avoid a head on collision. This driver was insane. Apparently I must have looked calm on the outside because Tara later asked if I was concerned. Anyhow, I think you get the point. Along the way we stopped at a small stone house complex to take some photos of llamas that were tied up beside the road. The lady of the house came out, so we gave here some soles and became her new best friends. She even took us back into the complex to show us her guinea pig house. For animals that are soon to become dinner, guinea pigs are always housed in cute little complexes with small houses and a main open area. Each one I have seen has been very elaborate. The lady tossed in some grass (alfalfa I think it was) to entice the little buggers to come out for us to see. Although I have a feeling we were not the first tourists to stop, this felt so authentic that it didn't seem staged like so many other places I have seen this trip.

When we arrived at Sillustani, it was hot and there was a lot of confusion as to what to do. The taxi driver pointed at a parking lot, but did not drive in, rather leaving us to walk up the hill hoping that he was going to stay. I had left my coat in the car, so I really hoped he was going to be there when we returned. The place was almost deserted. It was apparent that in the busy season it must have hoards of visitors, but today it was quiet. It was a perfect day for us to take our time and walk up the hill savoring the views. The large towers are not for storing grain or anything, but are rather funeral towers called chullpas. As I said, these predate the Incas. From a distance the towers seemed large, but up close they were huge, standing over 39 feet tall. The dead were encased in these towers along with food, jewelry and other possessions. Obviously they were for the elite of the tribe, but wow were they impressive. Some of the towers were still under construction. Large rocks were scattered around the site and had been carved for placement in the towers. There wasn't too much information given at the site, but
Taracloud and bvchefTaracloud and bvchefTaracloud and bvchef

Another great TB friendship
the whole experience of simply being there, feeling dwarfed by ancient funeral towers and enjoying a gorgeous day was more than enough. I am very glad that Tara suggested it. As we walked down the hill, more visitors were arriving. It was nice to be there virtually alone to feel as if we were discovering these ruins ourselves. Thankfully the taxi driver was there waiting for us. After another roller coaster thrill ride back to Puno, we had enough time for a lunch of Pasta Alfredo before I had to meet my taxi to take me to the airport. My time in Puno was great for the day trips and for meeting Tara, but I have to say that the city was not a place I enjoyed. Still, I will always remember my time there as special.

At the airport in Juliaca I ran into a couple from Seattle that I had met on my tour of the Sacred Valley. It was nice to see them and talk a bit about our trips. The flight to Arequipa was quick and uneventful except for the beautiful views of mountains and volcanoes. Once again, I was met at the airport by
Guinea pig habitatGuinea pig habitatGuinea pig habitat

All of this for dinner?
a taxi driver standing there with my name on a sign. From what I have read, taxi companies are a bit iffy in Peru, so it was worth the peace of mind to arrange transport through my hotel. My hotel was a restored 18th century mansion where the bishop of Arequipa used to live. It was a sprawling complex with thick stone walls, beautiful courtyards, flowers, exposed brick walls and gardens. I was only there to sleep as I had my trip to the Colca Canyon the following morning. Still, it was a beautiful place to spend the night.

After my trip to see the condors, I checked back into the same room at la Casa de Melgar. While arranging my trip, I took a day away from Lima and added it to Arequipa so that I could see more of this beautiful city. Arequipa is built on the foothills of the Misti volcano. While walking, I could look up and see snow covered volcanoes peeking between buildings. The walls of the hotel were so thick that the internet did not reach all of the rooms, so I spent time in a courtyard writing my Colca Canyon blog. While there, I met some Americans who invited me to dinner with some of their friends. We went to a crepe restaurant for the most delicious chicken curry and then Nutella crepes.

The next day I had to check out of the hotel and spend the day homeless. One reason I added the day to this city was to visit the Convento de Santa Catalina, a Dominican order convent founded in 1579. Although it once housed more than 200 sequestered nuns, it currently has about 19. In the past, nuns would live there with their servants, spending up to 7 hours a day praying. The second daughter of wealthy families would be taken to the convent at age 12 along with a dowry to the convent. Today, the convent offers tours of the winding streets. I had a guide tour me through the complex and afterwards, stayed to have lunch in a little cafe. It was blissfully peaceful sitting there enjoying the most incredible antipasto plate. I find that often it is the small things that really make a trip special. The rest of the day I spent wandering the town, sitting with a cup of coffee, people watching and the such. I did visit the Museo Santuarios Andinos (Juanita museum) for a video and tour. Juanita is what they call the frozen body of the 12 to 14 year old girl that was sacrificed to the gods and frozen on a volcano more than 500 years ago. Although Juanita is off site for preservation, we were able to see many artifacts found with her as well as with several other bodies uncovered on the volcanoes. It was very surreal to look at the fabric cloths and grass sandals worn by these ancient people before they were killed. They did have the frozen body of another girl on display. When I say frozen body, I mean that these are not mummies, but they have all of their organs intact. After death, they were placed into either the fetal position, or the lotus position in the case of the body on display, and left on the volcano for the gods. At such high altitude, the bodies froze quickly, preserving them in ice. It was both unique and eerie to see this small girl, still frozen, and to know that she was sacrificed so long ago. I had gone into the museum viewing it as something to do and see. I came out with a newly found respect for how real these artifacts and bodies were.

The rest of my afternoon was spent doing a whole lot of people watching. As much as I enjoyed Arequipa, I was ready for new adventures. When it came time for dinner, I chose a Moroccan restaurant. This city reminded me so much of Southern Spain that at times I had to remind myself that I was in Peru, not Seville. With that being said, I was in the mood for some different food. Finally it was time to board my overnight bus to Nazca.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Grass stepsGrass steps
Grass steps

It was as if Tara and I were discovering this
VolcanoVolcano
Volcano

Not sure, but I think this is Misti
Santa Catalina ConventSanta Catalina Convent
Santa Catalina Convent

This is where the servants would wash the clothing


16th March 2013

Over-stimulated!
Brendan, impossible to share all my thoughts and questions dreamily floating in my head. Thanks for 'packing us in your suitcase' with a writing style that puts the reader there with you. Awesome pics! Thank you!
16th March 2013

My suitcase is getting heavy lol
Thank you Jackie. I am so glad you are enjoying the blogs and enjoy my writing. I am happy to have you along with me on this trip.
17th March 2013
Guinea pig habitat

Looking at the bright side, I guess that they at least have good homes before they're placed on the grill . . . :)
17th March 2013
Guinea pig habitat

Lol, that is so true Michelle. Now I don't feel so badly for having enjoyed one in a rich sauce.
17th March 2013

No pics of guinea pig lodgings or frozen girl?
Brendan how could you have the rare opportunity to view elaborate guinea pig castles and be so selfish as to keep their loveliness all to yourself? Hmm? Oh well. The funeral towers sound amazing! And the food is not so exotic, Alfredo pasta and antipasti! Seems one doesn't have to stoop to luring guinea pigs out of their castles when one is hungry after all! The convent is lovely but you really peeked my intreat with the frozen girl. Again, no pic?! Sigh. I'm sure you'll do better next time :)
17th March 2013

Guinea Pigs, Yes, Frozen Girl, No
Hi Jackie, Thank you for your comment. There is a picture of the guinea pig habitat, but unfortunately at the Juanita museum I had to give them my camera to be locked up. I don't think they want anyone sneaking pictures. If you Google Juanita mummy, you will find several good links. I would recommend it, because it is very interesting.
17th March 2013
Taracloud and bvchef

Taracloud and bvchef
What a fabulous pic of two TBers together...the commaraderie of TB never ceases to amaze me...sey Hi to Tara from me!
17th March 2013
Taracloud and bvchef

Thank you Dave
I really liked that picture as well. Meeting up with a TB friend was a special time. I keep my eyes out for other TBers who will be where I am, but this is the first time it has worked. If you and Denise make a CA trip, give a shout.
17th March 2013

Moroccan food instead of guinea pig?
I'm laughing now. They can put those little rodents in all the sauce they want but they are still rodents. I'm with you....I would have selected the Moroccan food for a bit of a change. We found the Peruvian food but not great. We are so excited that you got to spend time with Tara. Hopefully, that will happen for us someday. In the meantime, we miss you and are ready to have you come back home.
17th March 2013

lol, thank you
Yes, I thought it was time for something different for dinner. Having a great time and seeing some incredible sights. Will be great to see you when I get back. We will have to make plans. Miss you both.
17th March 2013

The memories are priceless
Dave here....good to hear from you again. Looks like the weather is cooperative for the most part and the views are just stunning. Sounds like you are having a great time! Looking forward to getting together and talking about "le grand voyage." Safe travels, my friend.
17th March 2013

It has been awesome
Thanks Dave. I have had some very good luck with the weather here. Looking forward to getting together and sharing Peru stories. See you soon.
17th March 2013

Food looks good to me
Hi B, I enjoyed the food pictures . Most of it looks really good. I wonder how one of the rodents would taste smoked? I enjoyed the mental picture of you looking fierce. Have fun and enjoy your holiday! Ted
17th March 2013

Grrr!
Oh Ted, I was the picture of fierceness as you can just imagine. lol The food has been very good. I have a feeling the little rodents would be quite tasty on the smoker. Perhaps you should try a few before my next visit. I just had the most incredibly delicious rotisserie chicken for lunch today. It was the second time I have gone to this same restaurant. Absolutely the best chicken!
18th March 2013
Taracloud and bvchef

Fantastic photograph that encapsualtes Travelblog
Two bloggers I want to meet and there they are - in the same place at the same time! Tara and I have often corresponded about our love for 15th and 16th century polyphony, and wouldn't I love to spend time with you talking about foods of the world!
18th March 2013
Taracloud and bvchef

Thank you Shane
I really enjoyed spending time with Tara. She is an incredibly interesting person. Would love to meet you. Heck, you know several SF based bloggers......
22nd March 2013

Great meeting you!
Excellent account of our adventures in the ruins, and I{m so glad you got to try the guinea pig, you adventurous eater. It was amazing magic that we were able to connect here in Peru, so in a couple of years when I return home, I{ll have to head up north to see you and the TB community up there. May you feast in Lima!

Tot: 0.633s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 52; qc: 193; dbt: 0.458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb