Deepest, Darkest Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stolen PhotoStolen PhotoStolen Photo

Laura´s photo of Huascaran at sunset.
Well its been a while since I have written in the blog, I´m sorry. But i am writing in it now and am gonna put up loads of photos.
Rubens daughter took us out for a meal on Saturday night and Jess and Lauara had a thing called anticuchos which is just chopped up heart. I couldn´t eat it so I had chicken. Then we went to a club and danced and had fun. Pretty uneventful night really.
And we carried on our lessons which were OK, I´ve learnt quite a bit of spanish. Ruben worked us so hard, giving us like 80 sentences to do, and when we told Jaime about it and he was outraged so told us he would help us and he did. For our last homeworkwe had to write a story in spansh, I worteone wabout a little kitten called Raoul who lost his family. Itwas rather good I thought.
Then this weekend Stella Maris (Ruebns daughter) took us rock climbing but I chickened out at the last minute, dunno why just got scared about falling I guess. It was fun though. And she also took us to the market to buy presents for our
Stolen PhotoStolen PhotoStolen Photo

Laura´s photo of the alpaca woman and her alpaca. Its 15p per photo, the alpaca is very cute.
host families. We got our family a big bunch of sun flowers and a bottle of wine. I will miss them they have been good to us.
We are going up to the Lodge this afternoon which I am really excited about. We will start our volunteer work. I will only be on the internet on weekends. Sorry this is such a short post, I will write more next weekend.
Love you loads, enjoy the photos!
xxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Stolen PhotoStolen Photo
Stolen Photo

Laura´s photo of the Huascaran.
Peru CrewPeru Crew
Peru Crew

At the rock climbing wall. I look so disgusted, no idea why.
Peru CrewPeru Crew
Peru Crew

At the rop of the wall.
Peru CrewPeru Crew
Peru Crew

The balancing act, Stella Maris, Jess, Luara and my head between Jess legs haha
Peru CrewPeru Crew
Peru Crew

Chicos
Peru CrewPeru Crew
Peru Crew

Chicas
KittyKitty
Kitty

always dignified
PanchitePanchite
Panchite

Our spanish madre and her soup.
Peru FoodPeru Food
Peru Food

cooked underground.
Stella MarisStella Maris
Stella Maris

and kitty as a baby
JaimeJaime
Jaime

and a dinosaur he made himself. Steve buscemi, no?


27th April 2007

To Becky
Hey Becky, How are you doing? i get the feeling you are feeling a bit homesick from your blog and the phone chat. We all miss you too. I wish i had some advice for you, but New Zealand wasn't anywhere near as much as a culture shock as Peru, so i didn't really get homesick. It's really difficult being in a country where you're practically illiterate and are visually a foreigner. I think you're doing really well, especially with your Spanish. You aren't really missing anything back here. We are all super busy with essays and exam preparation so we aren't having mega fun or anything, how could we without BECKY! plus we don't have an alpaca! do you think you could smuggle me one back? they're so cute! Anyway, i guess what i'm trying to say is chin up old girl! we're all thinking of you kisses Emma xXx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb