One down, eight and a half to go.


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've been here a month now... Seriously how did that happen? I blinked and missed it or something! It feels like I've been here about a week. I can't decide if that's a good thing or a bad thing...

Today I had my first attempt at teaching Zuny english. I think it went well. I taught her the alphabet and how to say hello and goodbye and introduce yourself. Tomorrow I'm going to teach her numbers and dates.

Yesterday I had the most supremely lazy day, I stayed in my pyjamas aaaaaall day. I ate, I slept, and I chatted to my mummy, my sister and Laura. It was a goooooood day. Claire had to go to the capital again with little Romina, the girl who needs to go to the hospital quite a lot. Bless her, she's so much better than when they first met her but she's still got such a long way to go. If any one would like to remember her in their prayers that would be lovely. Also, I can't remember if I already wrote about it or not but there are two girls, Maggie and Lourdes, who are absolutely lovely and who have had such hard lives and so if anyone wanted to pray for them too, I'd appreciate that a lot. Claire is working so hard to make sure that those girls get to feel loved and that the learn how not to repeat the mistakes of their parents. I wish there was more I could do for them, but all I can do is just give them hugs and chat with them.

I have no idea what else to say. It's hot again. Dammit. But not as hot as it was when I first arrived thankfully. Although I have that to look foward to the closer we get to christmas. I gave up on using sun screen after a rather painful incident in which it went in my eyes. I haven't got burned though. In fact I'm not even sure I'm getting tanned yet. I'm still taking my vitamin B because it apparantly makes you blood taste not so good to mozzies. But I have yet to see any evidence of that. I look like I've got leprosy or something I have so many bites.

I am a bit paranoid at the moment about ants. You see I'm convinced that they're going to get revenge on me because a few nights ago I killed an awful lot of them. I had dropped a biscuit on the floor and not realised, and when I noticed it there were hundreds of ants enjoying it, so me being the nature loving hippy christian that I am, I got the bug spray and killed the lot of 'em! I then couldn't get to sleep for half the night because of the smell of chemicals, but hey it was worth it to get my room ant free. Anyway, so now I am paranoid that they all look at me and go "That's her, the murderer! GET HER!" I am convinced that half my bites come from mozzies and the other half from ants. I keep finding dead ants in my bed where I clearly unwittingly squish the little buggers. Eurgh. In all of creation the only things I dislike are bugs!

I'm pretty sure there's a prayer meeting tonight but I have absolutely no idea at what time... Oh well.

Advertisement



3rd October 2007

Drink loads of beer!
That's supposed to keep mozzies away. Should keep those pesky needy kids at arms length as well! Kill all the solitary ants you find, they are the scouts you can and report back that some silly English bird is leaving bountiful biscuits on the floor for them to gobble!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb