Things I've learnt in Asunción - 27 Apr 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
April 27th 2011
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow! Since I last blogged I've got married and met my new nephew (yesterday!) so as such I've divided this week's blog into things I've learnt at weddings and things I've learnt in hospital.

WEDDINGS

Table plans aren't for Paraguayans...everybody just sat where they wanted to (even if I did forget to print off the table numbers)

You can never have too many casserole dishes...we got given 3 but they're very useful

Marriage is about compromise...which is why the whisky decanter is being used as a vase rather than its intended purpose

Keep your speech notes in their own pocket...or you might whip out your wad of bank notes instead. Embarrassing.

HOSPITAL

Never, ever, knock the NHS...try spending 4 hours in Paraguay's largest state hospital with the rust, cockroaches, jobsworth security guards and to top it off a cat in the canteen. A pet cat actually lives in the canteen!

New born babies don't offer much...they sleep, wake up crying for milk, sleep, wake up crying for milk.

The little that they do offer is golden...like watching him open his eyes for the first time ever!

Hospital food is pretty good...had a lovely empanada in the canteen!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New Nephew!New Nephew!
New Nephew!

4 hours old!


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb