Finally arrived!!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
October 4th 2012
Published: October 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So have finally made it! Arrived in Guayaquil after a massive 36 hrs, trip made very much longer by being stuck in the middle seat! First time though, that I have stayed awake the whole time and pretty much watched tv non stop.. 5 year engagement, the lucky one, what to expect when your expecting, friends with kids and get the gringo.. rom com anyone?
Had the unexpected 8 hr stop over in Santiago (well unexpected to me anyway) which is not the most exciting airport in the wrold. Though it is pretty, surrounded by the snow capped andes. Tried to do the traveller doze across the airport seats, think I may have dozed a liuttle, but not enough for my poor body that was thinking it was night time.. Then the 5 hr flight to Guayaquil on which we had the Ecuadorian soccer team. I got to feel special getting off the plane in the arrivals hall- fans, cameras and press everywhere! Pity I didnt get such a personal welcoming party!

4 star is definately the way to go when arriving in a country after no sleep. King sized bed, comfy pillows, hot shower and buffet breakfast. Although had a bit of a shock at breakfast when I took a big gulp of my orange juice..but wait.. its carrot juice! Hmm coconut, carrot or watermelon were the juices on offer!

Other than the stress of trying to skype (my fault as I fell asleep..) its been ok so far. Managed to tackle the bus station (100 bus bays over 3 levels, 100 different ticket booth) and find myself accommodation here in Montanita with no issues (dont stress dad..). The place im at isnt fantastic though, will be searching for something else a little quieter and away from the centre of town tomorrow. Seems to be a bit of a party town, so hopefully the ear plugs will help me get some much needed sleep tonight!!

Apologies for the lack of apostrophies..cant get my head around these keyboards!

Hopefully a more interesting update to come in the next few days! Never know, may tackle some surfing lessons while Im here 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb