Linguistics, Plastic Surgery In Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » La Libertad
February 24th 2011
Published: February 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Multiplex TheatreMultiplex TheatreMultiplex Theatre

One of my requirements to retire somewhere, even though I only go rarely.

Going to Libertad from Salinas 25cents by bus


.
A Northern Californian couple is staying with us Matt is going scuba diving to Ayange about 20 miles up the coast I think. Terry just got $12,000 worth of work on her body (especially arms) from a renowned plastic surgeon in Guayaquil ($35,000 in the USA). There is another area maybe 3 hours by bus at Puerto Lopez that is called the Poor Mans Galapagos" as there are some creatures not found elsewhere..Boobies I think.

For those learning Spanish, my biggest problem is probably intonation and accent plus remembering correct tenses. Yesterday in Libertad I was having a drink on the malecon and I said to the lady next to me "Traiga sus hijos al la playa por la dia" She said sorry I don't speak English. This is not the first time I have got this. Very frustrating as I know I am close to correct.

Previously I had been talking with the waiter fairly easily in Spanish and he said to her, in Spanish, "William is saying: Did you bring your kids to the beach".
I guess some people either try harder or have better hearing or are
Libertad is a bit rough.Libertad is a bit rough.Libertad is a bit rough.

But not dangerous. Nice new malecon, breakwater and beach but across the street seems to be cheap real estate.
used to broken Spanish.

There is a website for accent correction that seems fantastic for me.

Searching Linguistics, Spanish, Phonetics together and of course other words will bring of more info (accent correction).

Along with
which you can start at home and build a reputation and learn some Spanish from guests there is a website called where David has met some people from here.
It becomes very apparent when traveling that the whole world is plugged into the internet. At the hostel and again here at Sonia's 4 or 5 people might be sitting around and everyone has there computer going. Finding information about activities or what they are doing next, talking to people back home, sending saving fotos, doing a blog ha ha ha, Etc. David and Terry both have computers, Sonia has two or 3 computers, I have one of course.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Bonaventura Mall or  "Cholo Mall" in LibertadBonaventura Mall or  "Cholo Mall" in Libertad
Bonaventura Mall or "Cholo Mall" in Libertad

Cholo=person who works at low paid jobs. The cabbie obviously thought I was not a Cholo as he asked for $2.50 instead of $1 regular price.
Bonaventura Centro CommercialBonaventura Centro Commercial
Bonaventura Centro Commercial

If you say Mercado you saying market, which I did and the cabbie corrected me.
Libertad LibreriaLibertad Libreria
Libertad Libreria

Libreria is book store.
Libertad MaleconLibertad Malecon
Libertad Malecon

These guys were laughing after I said they were taking all the sombra (shade) on the malecon.
5***** Grilled Chicken5***** Grilled Chicken
5***** Grilled Chicken

Comfortable cafe on the malecon back in Salinas.
5***** Service (Mas o Menos)5***** Service (Mas o Menos)
5***** Service (Mas o Menos)

They don't go overboard on service in Ecuador, it's just more or less natural service rather than trying to please.
5***** view Across the Street5***** view Across the Street
5***** view Across the Street

Tables at Luv 'N Oven face the Salinas malecon.
Low Cost BillLow Cost Bill
Low Cost Bill

Salinas is known as expensive. For the quality it's hard to beat.


26th February 2011

Libertad/Salinas
Hey William, Just catching up to all your great blogging. Was checking out your second last one and was wondering where Libertad was in relation to Salinas? Can't find it on the map adjacent to your blog. Also, how much is a peso worth to the Canadian dollar? i.e. your lunch bill? Been great catching up with all that you've been up to! Much love, Wendi
26th February 2011

Libertad is right next to Salinas
and Santa Elena the capital is right next to Libertad. No peso here just $USD. In Colombia $1 CND= nearly 2,000 pesos. Glad your enjoying the blog. I guess I should keep it up when I get back to California and I can include Jim and Tanis in it. Good to hear from you. Love Brother William
25th March 2011

surgeon
Thanks for sharing such interesting information about your experience in La Libertad. I especialy love the pictures! They make me want to plan a vacation asap! Who was the surgeon that your friend went to? Was she pleased with the results? Were they accomodating to foreigners? There are so many surgeons in Guayaguil advertising their services, its hard to be sure who has a good reputation when you are not local.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb