Quito - Old and New


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 23rd 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was my second full day in Quito and unfortunately it was cut short due to the afternoon rain showers. At nearly 9,400 feet in the middle of the Andes the weather changes every 30 minutes it seems. Although since I've been here the weather has been spectactular with highs in the low 70's and lows in the high 50's. But enough about the weather; the realy story of Quito is the people and architecture. Today I rode the public transporation (only taken by the lower-income residents of Quito) to what is known locally as the Ciudad Viejo or old city. The bus ride was an adventure of its own with each trolley filled to probably 3x its capacity. (not to mention the animals and large bags of groceries carried by most passengers). However I must admit everyone was very friendly and welcoming. (I think people in America on our limited public transportation options could take a note.)
Upon arriving at the old city I immediately headed for the local street food vendors or mercado. I orderd a very interesting looking bowl of "ceviche mixto" ((parts of chicken (not the good parts) and corvina)). The meal was very good despite its initial apperance. After the meal I began exploring the old town and was able to see several churches and museums that were constructed in the late 1500's. (Quito is one of the very first UNESCO world heritage sites.) I took several pictures that will be uploaded later. After walking probably 10+KM's I returned home to beat the rain. This afternoon will be heading out to El Pobre Diablo for some local late night entertainment. More to come. Hasta Luego.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb