Ecuador?


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
April 27th 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Some people don't really think much about Ecuador. Why? I guess cause they don't have much influence in the world or are known for anything great and famous. Regardless, it was a cool place to visit.

I first arrived in Cuenca. A nice colonial town. Not much to do here, just a nice place to stop for a visit. After Cuenca I headed to Baños. A small town that offers plenty of outdoor activities. I decided to mountain bike to close by waterfalls. The biking wasn't tough at all and the waterfalls were nice to look at. The last one was impressive. They build a viewing platform where you can actually walk behind the waterfall. It was really cool! A scary thing happened to my on the way back into town. In order to reach the falls, one has to ride through two tunnels different tunnels, one going and another coming back (open only to one way traffic). The one going was no problem. There are no lights in the tunnels, but the first one was short enough where I could see the road ahead of me enough to get by. However, the second tunnel sucked. Again, there were no
Medio del MundoMedio del MundoMedio del Mundo

Standing on two hemispheres.
lights and it was longer than the first. There is a lot of traffic that goes through these tunnels, so I was a little hesitant in riding through, but I had go. So, I started riding fast. I kept my eyes fixed to the other end of the tunnel for light, but as soon as I got halfway in, I could no longer see the road! Then I heard cars behind me entering the tunnel. Shit! They turned their headlights on, but I could hardly see ahead of me. I decided to move to the right side of the lane, then BAM! I hit a small ditch and I fell on the road. I braced myself for the car behind me to smack me. But then I jumped up immediately! The car was farther behind me than I thought and it immediately slowed down when they saw me drop. I picked up the bike and moved to the side to let the vehicles pass by. Close call. I only suffered a few scratches. No biggie.

I continued north, into Quito. My last visit in Ecuador. It was a huge city with nice architecture in the old part of town. There's the new Quito and the old Quito. The new Quito is where most tourists stay, but it's also the most dangerous part of the city. I decided to stay in old Quito where it's close to the bus station, and not as dangerous. Old Quito also has the nicest architecture in the city. My visit in Quito was cool. I enjoyed the city, but not one of my favorites.

On the road again, continuing north. Now headed into Colombia. Oh yeah! I kept hearing good things about this country from fellow travelers. Can't wait to see it!

still livin',
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb