Day 36: The spread of American Culture and other curiosities


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ronald McDonaldRonald McDonaldRonald McDonald

I call this one "Pensive Ronald" or maybe "High School Graduation Photo Ronald" or maybe "President Ronald."
I hate it when you see something weird or funny and there is no one to share the joke with.

For example, I was in the cell phone store my first week here and there was a worker whose ringtone was “Mr. Jones and Me”. Really is 1993 calling you?

Or the time I discovered this giant statue alongside a house (see attached photo). It was like seeing a Fat Boy in someone’s front lawn. My laughter drew a look from a girl so I just pointed said “Que es eso?!” and went on my way. (I’m glad my tone indicated a rhetorical question, because I wasn’t yet equipped to have a conversation in Spanish.)

Now some of you (Rodney and Charlotte for sure) know about my obsession with the spread (disturbing in my mind) of American culture throughout the world. And the icon I have found that best captures this spread is Ronald McDonald. Yes, that red headed clown, long lost to the American children of today. I mean, I’ve looked for other signs of our influence in technology (Steve Jobs or Bill Gates), in sports (Michael Jordan or Andre Agassi) in literature (Mark Twain or Maya
Cartoon RonaldCartoon RonaldCartoon Ronald

My what big feet you have...
Angelou), but all I’ve found is Ronald. So for you… my audience I bring you Ecuadorean Ronald! And for the rest of the world, for all that Ronald has given you and for what he has brought to your countries… you’re welcome!

For your viewing pleasure I have also included a few other funny pictures. This for sure will be a reoccurring blog posting!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big BoyBig Boy
Big Boy

I have no explanation and really no words.
Danielle SteeleDanielle Steele
Danielle Steele

This bookshelf was in a restaurant... as a accent? a piece of interest? Who knows, but for some reason it cracked me up that shoved in between old tattered books was a Danielle Steele. *Eye roll*
Best Fly Swatter Ever!Best Fly Swatter Ever!
Best Fly Swatter Ever!

If you want me to pick one up for you just let me know.
Taxicab WarningsTaxicab Warnings
Taxicab Warnings

This amused me because Kenny was in the car at the time of this photo.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb