Hi-Ho Hi-Ho it is off to work we go


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Atacames
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PuppiesPuppiesPuppies

They don't restrict the activities of dogs over here, and this is one of the results
Easy come easy go,
I wanna go with the flow,
Whats the hurry what's the rush,
Come on and cruise with us.

Lyrics from a song that jumped back into my head a few days ago whilst swaying side-to-side in the soft slightly sweaty smelling fabric of one of the familiar hammocks that hang outside my room.
Hanging there next to the Bamboo table catching glimpses of fire-flys threading thier light between the leaves on the humming bird tree, I have begun to find more clarity in my thoughts. I think the absence of electricity on a dark starry night, and a tired body from a hard days work amongst the blood-thirsty mosquitos, leaves you with an inclination toward thinking deeply. I thought of all the things that have woven together through my life to set me here on this stilt-top wooden deck, and considered the contributions people have made to making me me.
And atleat in between some of the troubling tasks we toil over on more then high twenty degree humid days, I find myself happy and high-spirited here in an elevated volunteer house, tip-toed above the Guiva trees and tightly twisted Maracuya vines that climb them, with
Crabby CrabsCrabby CrabsCrabby Crabs

Red Crabs everywhere on Lagatera Beach. It seems like the beach is moving sometimes
a smile on my mind and a smirk on my face.
Ready to take my travels to more strange, wonderful, and often scary places, to find those few illusive things that I have found that I am still missing, before I too am able contribute to completing the puzzle that I have begun to see in an image inside the frames outlined by my reflection. I think that once I make these few little touches, changes, and additions to this guy you have all created I will be ready to carry on with whatever in the assured manner only accountable to the fact that I am sure in myself that I am my very own version of me!

Besides my somewhat confusing self commentary on my internal situation, I assure you I still wave a boldly coloured flag of sanity, and continue to behave as unadvisably as always, and often with the same unrivalled quality of oddness and irritability that some love and others deny themselves the pleasure of loving

Life here in Congal has passed at the same rate as time elsewhere, but the rate with which time passes constantly seems to change for me, as sometimes
Dos SenorasDos SenorasDos Senoras

Two typical women of Bunche walking home along the beach on a sunday afternoon
nights drag out into unsleepless sweaty struggles, but often a blink seperates my last glimpse of drakness from the dawn.
Six new volunteers have joined me at the station, and filled the lightless hanging hammocks with their after work aches, and I look forward to the departure of our two troll like german forced-upon-us-fellow-workers, whome hang their heavy dull veil of disappointment far behind them on every working trail. At times somone catches their mood in their wake and only hours barraged by others laughter can break them out of that unfortunate state of ugly german girl gloom.
You may think that I am harsh with my desacription of these two illedged girls, but I assure you on the name of Willy Wonker that they are equal to the terror in my descriptions.
Thank heavens (and anybody that has done good work in hell) for the other volunteers that I have been joined by over this past week, as I now have found my smile again and hope that all is well elsewhere as it is equally here.
Bye for now,
I love you all equally if not more then I love 'Cairns Fudge', and hope that all is swell,
GringoGringoGringo

Our canine friend
well, and destined to get better,
Andrew




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Vicente Fishing Vicente Fishing
Vicente Fishing

Trying to haul in a few shrimp. Here they are casting their net
Cuco and the gangCuco and the gang
Cuco and the gang

There are the new bunch of volunteers surveying the crabby sands
Hammock NightsHammock Nights
Hammock Nights

Sepia toned for that little eliment of cool
Round and RoundRound and Round
Round and Round

Sometimes upside down, and crawling blindly along the ground, but where is that milk???
The local form of transportationThe local form of transportation
The local form of transportation

Here in the heart of the mangroves
This is a pondThis is a pond
This is a pond

And for those less familiar with ponds and the things that go with them, the blue thing is a boat
The new guysThe new guys
The new guys

This is pretty much our current volunteer bunch!
TureTure
Ture

I call him Tudor, and he is a Norweigen man of the sea!
Mangrove side residenceMangrove side residence
Mangrove side residence

Just one of the old shrimpers houses along the mangroves
Little FellaLittle Fella
Little Fella

Hanging out amongst the puppies on Congal Island
Thats TureThats Ture
Thats Ture

Classic kind of guy
This is themThis is them
This is them

Those shrimp we always eat!
Water DogWater Dog
Water Dog

Gringo
Red CrabRed Crab
Red Crab

Just one of thousands
There was alot of crabsThere was alot of crabs
There was alot of crabs

But I don't have a very good zoom on my camera


10th March 2007

envious
Wish i could be there too :( Live it up my friend !
11th March 2007

"Couple more and ya have yaself a shrimp cocktail"
12th March 2007

more pizza
I really CAN'T see, what's on that PIZZA!!! (and this is just for write something LOUD) And this is a true reflection: I felt so well and in balance with myself, during my time at the station -well, not all the time...- I really miss that state of mind of mine..cleaaaaar thouughts, mmmmmmmmmhhhhhhh (imagine here Homer with water dropping off his mouth). and ya, do really think there will EVER be a you you (as seen in "me me" but...with you you) I'm afraid that's not going to happen -unless your name's buddha or yeah...Willy Wonka)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb