Banos, Potential Disaster In The Making.


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Baños
January 17th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Current Location= Banos, Ecuador

$3.5 US got me onto a comfortable, four hour bus ride from Quito to the Gateway to the Amazon, Banos. I was warned in Quito to not expect much from Banos these days, to expect that it would be an abandoned outpost, sitting directly in the path of near by Tungurahua Volcano. (very active these days/really only a matter of time before it blows) But despite the warnings I decided to make the trip, and found that Banos still bussels with activity. Whats makes it even better is that it is the cheapest place in Ecuador these days. An economy based hugely off of tourism, prices on hostels/food began to fall several years ago when the volcano began to build up pressure again, a sign of an ensuing eruption. The drop in prices was a last ditch effort to attract people back to the area. Well, it was enough for me, being the cheap-ass that I am, but unfortunately not everyone is like me and the local economy continues to lag.

I climbed into the mountains today, trying to get a better view of Tungurahua, and ended up spending four hours traversing switch-backs, back and forth, back and forth, before finally reaching the top of the mountain. Unfortunately clouds swept in halfway through my climb, covering the mountain, covering me, making any views of the volcano impossible. I only noticed this once I reached the top. Damn. I spent several minutes cursing everything around me, before being placated by a friendly cow who stopped by to ask for a scratch. My luck changed on the way back down as the sun came out and I was able to get some really great pictures of the valley and the volcano (still partially hidden behind clouds).

Pictures to come when I get the chance. It feels weird but I have less than two weeks left before I fly back to the States.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb