Minca!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta
January 17th 2012
Published: January 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

MincaMincaMinca

Trail to our Hotel
Tuesday -January 17,2012

Today my classes were to begin very early at 7:30 a.m. We wanted to leave for Minca by noon. We had our first setback today. When I awoke, Lance manages to mutter, I am sick, I have been on the toilet all night and my back is killing me. Oh, no, he is literally hit with a double whammy. Whatever he did to his back, it totally stiffened in the night. He is in serious pain and moves only with difficulty. We talk about how he got sick. He has been brushing his teeth with the sink water – this may be the problem. Sometimes you can get away with this, but not a good idea. Dr. Rubel, does not want to take anything. I give him pepto-bismo and Imodium and dash to the local tienda (store). I buy him Gatorade and water. I return and make him take both the pepto-bismo and Imodium. The Doctor is compliant. I dash to class and I am 10 minutes late (2 days in a row).

Class was great. I return and Lance is not doing well. But he does not complain, packs his bags, and we get ready
MincaMincaMinca

Trail to our Hotel
to leave for Minca. I talk to Patrick and decide that we need to make a change in our travel plans. You really only have two options to get to Minca. First, option is a collectivo. You can catch them at Carr 11 and Calle 13 (by the market). When they have 4 people they go. Cost $5.000 pesos per person (about $2.50 USD). The second option is a taxi. Cost $40.000 or $50.000 peso ($20 or $25 USD). We had planned to take a collectivo, but it is not a good option for my brother to be waiting in the street. So, I talk to Patrick and he arranges a Taxi. Minca is close, but the roads are a mess. I was planning to stay at Hotel Minca or Sierra Gorda. I read about both on the internet. As I was talking to Patrick, he recommends a place he stayed at only the previous weekend. Ranchero De La Aluna. He says it is a little difficult to find but is amazing. He gets me a map and draws the location. I want to stay at this place. We arrive in Minca after a 50 minute taxi drive. I fall
MincaMincaMinca

Ranchero De la Luna
in love with the place almost instantly. Our taxi cab driver can’t find the hotel. We drive down two narrow dirt roads and have to back up. Finally, we find the road. At one point I have to get out of the car and help the driver across a narrow bridge. His first effort, missed the cement, and the car bottoms out. We get to the end of the street and no Hotel. I am frustrated. The driver goes to a house and asked. I can plainly hear them say “Yes, it is here, only a little further, but your car cannot pass. I tell Lance to stay in the car (he does not feel well) and I follow a young boy down a trail. It is a very narrow trial along a bluff that extends for about 1 Km (5 minutes walking). I arrive at the place and I cannot believe my eyes. It is so AMAZING. It is a thatched hut made from bamboo on the edge of bluff overlooking the valley and the city of Santa Marta. The view is simply amazing. I want to stay here for a week, not just one night! The price is
MincaMincaMinca

Ranchero De La Luna
$30 USD per night for the two of us. I can’t describe the place, just look at the pictures. If you go to Minca and don’t stay here, well you really missed out. The breeze on the mountain is amazing. I deposit Lance in the bed and walk to the city. This place really reminds me of small village that Teresa and stayed in when we were in Guatemala. I am in love with this place. I am really sad that Teresa is not here with me. I know that she would just love this hotel (not really a hotel only one room) and the city of Minca. Lance tells me that he does not want to eat, but wants some yogurt. Ok, sure, no problem, I am in a small ass village in the mountains of Columbia, yogurt, no problem. I walk into the city. It has only one central square. I pass two very small stores and go to both, no yogurt. I walk to the central and some guys with motorcycles start yelling at me. I realize they are the taxis for this village. I tell them, no, but later or perhaps tomorrow yes (they will
MincaMincaMinca

Rancero de la Luna
take you to the coffee plantation). I start to walk away, but return, and ask, “where is the biggest store in the city?” They tell me to go two more blocks and it is on the right. I arrive 2 minutes later. This store (the biggest in town) has two counters of goods. I love this place! Oh my gosh, they have exactly two containers of yogurt. I buy both. One is strawberry and I am not even certain of the other flavor – it is yellow. I start back to our one room hotel.

In route, I see this small store with a sign listing “café, cappachino, mocha, & tea”. I enter the place, it is small with two tables. A young girls (perhaps 20 years) approaches me. We say hello. I ask if they sell coffee beans, they do. $6.00 for a pound of 100% organic grown Columbian coffee. They also sell sandwiches. I buy 2 ham and cheese on whole grain bread. I return to the hotel. Lance is still sleeping. I tell him I found yogurt and sandwiches. He gets up and walks to the deck. He forces down the 1 entire container of
MincaMincaMinca

Rancero De La Luna
yogurt and the sandwich. He is ok, for about 10 minutes. Then he feels really bad and returns to the bed.

I get all of the toys I brought with me to Columbia, and head back to the city. In route, I pass two houses with a lot of kids. I ask them if they want a gift. The look at me with big eyes and say YES! I start to pass out the gifts, and more kids appear. Soon there are 12 small kids surrounding me. I am loving this moment! I give each of them toys. They thank me and each gives me a hug. I take pictures and continue for the city. I walk in the central area. First I buy some cheese, it is wonderful. I walk for 5 minutes and turn around and buy more cheese. The owner, a small man laughs when I ask for more. He says, why don’t you buy a big piece. I tell him that I have no refrigerator. He smiles and says ok. I leave the store and I turn on a small trail that extends along the river. Already I have visited 4 small stores. Not
MincaMincaMinca

Church
even one has Diet Coca-Cola or any diet soda. In fact, almost all sell only glass bottles (12 oz) of local stuff. The favorite is “PONY MALTO” I am just amazed. As I walk down the trail, I see another small Tienda, in fact the name is “Mi Tienda” (my store). I enter the store, and to my complete amazement there is 1 plastic bottle of Coca-cola Zero. I grab it! A nice lady is behind the counter and in Spanish I tell her “you are the only one in town with Coca-Cola Light and now I am very happy!” She starts laughing and so do I! I ask if I can take a picture. She say, “yes” and is still laughing in the picture. I really, really like this village. I pass a small house with a sign indicating they sell “Helado”. I enter and a nice lady sells me some ice cream that is white and purple. It is really yummy!!! I walk around the city and finally come to a small dirt road and there are no more businesses. A dog runs from a home and barks at me. I talk to him (in Spanish) but
MincaMincaMinca

View from our room
it does no good. Finally, the owner yells at the dog and he stops. I tell the owner it is no problem…….he laughs and invites me to come to his porch have water with him. I thank him and decline. My Spanish is not that good and I am afraid to drink his water – I might end up like Lance! Then I feel bad because I am afraid I have offended him – I hope not. On the way back, I stop at the place where I bought the sandwiches and I buy 10 pounds of coffee – that was all she had.

When I return to the hotel, I again see the children. They run to me and every single one gives me a big hug and says thank you again. I am so happy! Lance is now up and doing a little better. His back hurts, but his stomach is better. I bought him some saltine crackers and he eats several. He wants to try a walk in the city. We cover part of the city and I find a small place that actually sells pizzas. I buy one with Tomatoes, Onion, Columbian peppers, and mushrooms.
MincaMincaMinca

View from our room at night - Santa Marta
When I get it, there is no sauce, but it is pretty good even without tomato sauce. I think it has olive oil. I also buy a big bag of candy. On the way back all the kids see me and come running. I give them all candy. They all love me, and I love this village!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

MincaMinca
Minca

Favorite Store! She sells Coca-Cola Zero!
MincaMinca
Minca

Kid's goofing off!
MincaMinca
Minca

Kids! Look careful, see anything funny?


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb