and the rest


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » San Agustin
January 17th 2007
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Popayan, Tierra Dentro, San Augustin and very briefly Pasto, but not by design.

Finally I moved on from the strange comfort of Cali and Calidad House and ventured out into the southern parts of Colombia. It wasn't my plan to visit Pasto but as I completly missed my stop and ended up traveling for another six hours to the virtually the border of Colombia and Equador. It was a very odd experience all round, one of the people traveling to Pasto befriended me, and when we got to our destination him and his son shared a cab with me until they found a hotel to take me.
This hotel was a 'love hotel', the first I have encountered, it was quite an experience to enter at 3am after realising that I'd messed up with my travel plans. I was very taken with the fact that it had hot water in the showers even though I couldn't use it as I had a brand new tattoo across my waist. The mirrors on the ceiling and walls also tickled me, it did feel like a bit of a waist that I was alone here, but the mirrors did give me the opportunity to really get a good look at my tattoo. I remember the walls being very pink and a lot of hussle and bussle going on with guest leaving after their hours of passion.
When I woke up and got myself together I realised that it was quite cold and I wasn't really equipped for the weather. I left the hotel and took a cab to the noted market and did a quick tour of the city. I wasn't very interested, mainly I think because I had never planned to be there and felt my time was becoming more precious so I headed to the bus depo and got my ticket for the long journey back to Popayan, the place I should have been in all along.

It felt good to be on the bus heading back on track, I reworked my timetable in my head over and over again doing my best not to stress about things. I would spend one two nights one day in Popayan, then leg it to Tierra Dentro spend one night then head the rural market in ... after which I would head for San Augustin for a day before heading back to Cali. This was the first hectic travel plans or thoughts of traveling I'd had since I left England...


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb