Two outa tree ain't bad!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
July 27th 2011
Published: July 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok so Cartagena-Medellin was not “about little over 300km” as I had estimated by lookin at the map of Colombia, instead it was a whoppin 700(at least I estimated two out of tree digits right ;p ) and thus kept be busy for the better part of the last 3days XD
But anyway, I made it and that's what matters... right?
I can also add that everything I hoped for and feared when it comes to riding the bike came true 😊
The views are beyond awesome, all the little villages are really cool, it feels incredible and … my butt hurts like hell after an hour or so :/

Friday I got my international driver's license, which was the last part of the puzzle(I hope..) and thus meant that I could finally be on my way.
So in the early morning of Saturday(at around eleven -.-' ) I left Cartagena with the intent of reaching Medellin round Sunday noon... and boy was I ever misinformed XP
The first day was the hardest(and the only day I might describe as a bit 'hard' by that) as it took me over an hour to exit the city and it being noon meant that I had to do so in a blistering sun and amidst some killer traffic...
But once clear of the city and that throttle open... nothing could stop me!
…. Except for hunger and a soar bum obviously.
And so it happened, I rode till I was hungry/thirsty or tired, ate/drank or rested a bit and moved on till about 5pm when I started to look for a place to crash(some cheap hotel/motel) and get ready for the next leg.
The second and third day I actually got up at eight and moved out at nine which meant I could cover a great deal of distance more per day.

And on the third day he drove into Medellin and was, well, simply baffled by the sheer seize of it while on the map it seemed sooo small :s
But I kept my cool, thought about it a bit and thanks to my intellect(I asked some guy guarding a parkingspace) managed to find the hostel a bit later just before it began … to rain for the first time in four days!!
Talking about a lucky break 😊
So here I am, in Medellin.
In a couple of days I will probably move on yo Guatape and Bogota, but first I'll check out whatever there is to check out 😉

Ow yeah, PS. I also went to check out Parque Tayrona during my last days in Santa Marta.
I did that together with a Korean girl whom I met at the hostel, it was a great deal of fun.
The hike was nice, the parc was awesome.... so yeah 😊

Anyway, so I'll be getting a move on now since I just noticed its almost August !
Time does fly at times ...

Cheers!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Colombian highlandsColombian highlands
Colombian highlands

Left - colombian mountains, right - colombian mountain-town
BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

In some mountain town along the way. Big bowl of soup with taters and meat, coffee, eggs, bread, platano(kind of banana), french fries(yeee), and some grilled meat(half of it all had allready dissapeared for some unknown reason on this picture) for a grand total of ... 1.9€ :P


27th July 2011

thanks to your intellect you found an hostel...well, well
Of course you are showing again your immense sense of humour, and I must admit I like it very much. For the sake of your entertaining travel blog, you are telling us how smart, how sensible you are, but of course you are kidding, you are joking, you are pulling our legs. This kind of humour makes your stories so interesting, so nice to read. We also noticed that you miscalculated the distance between Carthagena and Medellin. Perhaps one of the reasons for this is, is that Belgium is such a small country and that we are not used to drive that far. And how is the feeling to sit in the driver's seat? Did you take this Korean girl on your bike ? Btw why your preference for Korean girls ? Why didn't you take a picture of her in front of your motor bike ? You forgot your promise once again ? Furthermore we are learning from your latest posting that you are not only proud of yourself but also of your motor bike, and that you are moving on with the throttle wide open, whilst admiring everything you are coming accross. What a life ? I hope that you can understand why we envy you so much. Wouldn't it be nice if you could explain to us what you are going to do next, unless of course you are still in the process of making up your final plans. For all your interested readers, it would be helpful, if they could have a glance at your itinerary and some info as to when approximately you think your adventure will come to an end. Please don't forget Peter that some of us cannot go on holidays yet, as long as your journey is going on. Many of your readers are very loyal and prefer to follow your escapades rather than to go themselves on holidays.In October I will head for Hong Kong, and Kim is planning to leave for India in November. Please tell us that you will timely be back, otherwise Kim and myself will have to cancel our plans. Thanks.
29th July 2011

@Jacques
And how is the feeling to sit in the driver's seat? - The first two hours it's great, after that it lessens gradually ;) // Did you take this Korean girl on your bike ? - No I didn't feel that confidant yet on the bike // Btw why your preference for Korean girls ? - Orrr why Korean girls' preference towards me?? :O // Why didn't you take a picture of her in front of your motor bike ? You forgot your promise once again ? - ... // Wouldn't it be nice if you could explain to us what you are going to do next, unless of course you are still in the process of making up your final plans. Please tell us that you will timely be back, otherwise Kim and myself will have to cancel our plans. … one never knows ;p
31st July 2011

in your language... congrats with your International Driver's Licence
Making a journey and at the same time obtaining an International Licence is extraordinary and remarkable. And we aren't allowed to forget that meanwhile you have also become a master in the Spanish language. What's next ? Meanwhile, it would appear that you are confronted... with hurting butts. I don't know whether you have ever been on an horse? I very much suspect it is the same feeling ? Can't you sit down anymore? Do you have to stand up all the time? Very unpleasant feeling. Perhaps when being in Argentina you will refuse to climb on an horse? Meanwhile you found out that to-morrow we are already the 1st of August, that the time flies and that still that delicious large piece of meat isn't coming your way. I suspect that that miracle is now coming very near, but this must happen in Uruguay, if I amn't mistaken. What do you like most: " een entrecote/zesrib/rumsteak" or all of them together ? I promised that I wouldn't ask anything about your further plans and wherabouts. But I guess you are in Bogota now. Hope to hear you very soon.
31st July 2011

@Jacques
I don't know whether you have ever been on an horse? - Remember Cuba? ;) // I very much suspect it is the same feeling ? - It's a bit better than riding a horse, but similar yeh :x // Can't you sit down anymore? - Well, since it is a very specific way to sit on a bike, it only hurts when I sit in that manner, and as a result my but only hurts when I sit on the bike and not when I do so in a chair or so... // Perhaps when being in Argentina you will refuse to climb on an horse? - Oh I had never any intentions of ever getting on a horse again after Cuba... // But I guess you are in Bogota now. - Wrong ;D
1st August 2011

nog een berichtje uit Zoersel
Dag Peter. Ik ga het ook eens proberen. Hoe gaat het daar ? Heel goed ? Komt ge nog ooit terug? Ik ben de tel kwijt, zoveel landen. Straks moet ik nog een wereldbol gaan kopen, om te kunnen blijven volgen. Ik denk dat het daar mooi is, want ge kunt er precies niet genoeg van krijgen. Ik denk dat ge niet veel mist ginder. Elke dag plezierige ervaringen. Mijne man kan nogal zeveren hé. Wij wonen wel in Zoersel, maar het blijft een Antwerpenaar hé. En die mannen kent de toch. Ik ondertussen wel. Ge hebt ons al een paar keer verrast. Zoals Kim schreef, de grootste verrassing zou nog zijn dat ge met een schoon Braziliaanse of een schoon Argentijnse zou terugkeren om te oefenen. Uw Spaans hé. De rest moet ge niet leren. Daar zijt ge rap met weg, denk ik. Jacques komt juist is kijken. Van dien zeveraar, dat mag er uit, zegt hij, maar ik ga het erin laten. Het is toch waar hé. Nog veel amusement ginder. Nog veel reisplezier en dikke kussen van Irène
1st August 2011

@Irène
Hoe gaat het daar ? Heel goed ? - Het gaat inderdaad nog altijd zeer goed met mij :) // Komt ge nog ooit terug? - Ooit, waarschijnlijk wel ;) // Mijne man kan nogal zeveren hé. - Dat heb ik niet gezegd ;D // Nog veel reisplezier en dikke kussen van Irène – Groetjes!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb