We got lost


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
August 13th 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

familyfamilyfamily

This is my uncle, my cousin Marie, and my mom in front of marie's paper store
August 11 was a day filled with lots of events. We woke up early and went to a botanical garden. There was many people there, we had to wait outside for someone to leave so that we could park. Walking into the botanical garden, there was a parallel row of tents. Each tent had its own advertisement, and sample of product. Once we walked passed the advertisement, and received all the flyers, we walked pass vendors selling fresh fruit and an assortment of juices. Pass the juice was finally a house, were we were directed to walk through. In the house was an expo of oil paintings of all the flowers that were in the garden.
After the expo, was finally the garden. The garden was set up as a circle, with various islands of flowers in the center. There were sections designated for each flower. And the sections were judge by creativity of the display and beauty of the flower.
Pass the flowers was a room designated for tropical birds, which were all displayed the same as the flowers. Each bird and variety had its designated place.

After we left the garden, we drove to my cousin Emilio´s house
familyfamilyfamily

This is my great uncle (the one with no teeth) and his wife
to have lunch. We were there for about an hour. And quickly left to Emilio’s dad’s small convince store. We packed in like sardines in a taxi, and drove up the mountain to a very poor section of medellin. When we arrived, my uncle quickly pulled out shot glasses, and beer. We all sat outside his small store drinking. And My great uncle has no teeth, and speaks with a very strong Colombian accent so I didn’t understand anything he was saying, so I ended up tuning him out. My mom and uncle´s wife were telling jokes, but their humor is not the same as in the usa, s nothing was really funny to me. But I did have my beer and a few shots, to make up for the lack of understanding 
About 3 hours later, and 3 bottles we left. My uncle sent my mom and I with my cousin Emilio ( who was pissed drunk) to take us back to where we were staying. Well, Emilio ended up falling asleep, and the taxi driver had no clue where we were going. The taxi driver did complain the entire way, saying that he shouldn’t have taken
familyfamilyfamily

This nieca my uncles girlfriend, emilio (the drunk), and my mama
us. So long story short he left us, in some neighborhood, in a small convince store, with my drunk cousin. I only had enough change for a few calls, and the store was about to close in 30 minutes. I called the house where we are staying because my cousin Nora has a car. But she had already left, and my uncle had no clue what to do or where we were , so all he said waws get a taxi. So we attempted to stop a taxi, but as soon as the driver saw my cousin none wanted to take us. We ended up calling my cousin Sandra’s mom, to pick us up. While waited for her, my uncle peed on someone’s front porch…fun…haha.. and my mom was freaking out because the store was about to close and they were going to kick us out. But soon enough beatriz came and took us home.
My uncle was crying when we got there because he was worried we were lost forever. He had blamed his wife for us being lost and so she was also crying. Emilios family had gone a mission with flash lights to go find us.
familyfamilyfamily

This nieca my uncles girlfriend, emilio (the drunk), and my mama
And my mom was about to have heart attack. I was trying to remain calm.
When everyone was leaving my cousin alejandro arrived. Alejandro lived in new York most of is life and I hadn’t seen him since I was 13 , so it was def. nice seeing him. My uncle’s wife we was no longer crying but still drink was flirting with my cousin. So we ended up leaving quickly. We walked up the street not to far from the house, because it was raining, and had stuffed arepas. We talked for about 2 hours, it was nice.



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

familyfamily
family

nieca all drunk, resting on my great unlce


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb