Colombia Part 1


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
October 28th 2013
Published: October 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

My adventure began with an auspicious start at Heathrow airport when the first line of security asked for my passport...and my visa for the USA when I am in transit. Panic. What visa? Panic!! Crisis averted as I purchased it online but I can only hope that my organisational skills can only get better as the trip continues.

After 30 hours via Houston and Bogota, I finally arrived in the vibrant and picturesque city of Cartegena in the north of Colombia and joined some other travellers on the tour for a walk round the old colonial city and some mojitos as we watched the sunset over the port. There are a total of 17 people in the group, ranging from 21 to 72, with the majority of people from Australia or the UK. Full marks for the 2 guides and fellow travellers as I couldn't be any luckier with who I'm going to be spending the next fee weeks and months with.

The first full day began with a guided tour of the city in the morning and an epic search for any ATM that would give me some money in the afternoon. Mission accomplished so I was able to join a group for a private salsa lesson in the evening. It is only a shame that I am unavailable for the British National Championships as they are held in January!! In all seriousness, the night of dancing that followed the lesson was amazing, despite my lack of rhythm and skills. The local Colombian men were brave teachers but it was definitely a memorable night of South American 'culture'.

My first visit to the Caribbean lived up to all expectations as the following day was a day trip to the island of Playa Blanca. We were meant to be camping and staying for 2 days but the itinerary changed as the new truck is stuck in Ecuador at customs. Life was tough when I was lying on the beach eating fresh mango whilst having a foot massage and looking out at the crystal clear sea.

Following Cartagena, we had a 12 hour journey to Medellin, the next destination on the tour, which actually took nearly 19 hours because of the weather and the heavy traffic of trucks on the single track road going up and round the mountains. Card games and movies kept us occupied but it was worth the wait as the home city of the notorious drug warlord, Pablo Escobar, was beautiful in a completely different way to Cartagena.

Finally, the bright lights of the cities were left behind as we have just spent 2 full days in Guatape, surrounded by mountains and beautiful lakes and activities. A trek to a waterfall by means of walking up hills, scrambling over rocks and up steep banks, fishing, although between 7 of us, we only returned with 2 fish! and some mountain biking makes me a little sad to be leaving. But the good times just keep coming...

Apologies for the lack of photos...I will upload some asap but the BBQ is just about to start and I will be off line for the next few days so wanted to get this posted before we leave early tomorrow morning xxx

Advertisement



31st October 2013

First Blog
Darling - it all sounds amazing so far and I am glad you are happy with your fellow travellers! You write extremely well and entertainingly. Love you lots, Mum xxx
31st October 2013

Great start
Hey Olive - Glad to hear you got there in one piece, despite the American transit issue! It sounds like you are having a great time already. I am very jealous sitting here in a jumper with the rain lashing at the house! Looking forward to the next update. Tx

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb