Bogota and the flight home


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
August 19th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Bogota late afternoon after a long 20 hour bus journey from Santa Marta. We checked into our hostel and decided to check out the Zona Rosa neighbourhood, which is where lots of bars and restaurants are in Bogota as it was the girl's last night. After being shocked by the prices (£3 a pint!!), being used to South American prices, we had some drinks in an English pub as a warm up to going home! The next day we had a look round the city and did some souvenir shopping. I then said goodbye to Abbie and Jemma who had a flight home that evening while i had another 2 days until mine. Was strange being on my own again after 3 weeks of travelling with the girls as i'd got used to their company every day! My last full day in Bogota was spent seeing the sites of the city including the gold museum, police museum and exploring the old part of the city. I liked Bogota as a city, there was a lot going on and always seemed busy no matter what time it was and the massive police presence in the day meant i felt completely safe.

My flight was at 5:30pm on the Wednesday so i spent that morning packing and securing my bike box. I arrived early to check the bike in and, after paying $100 USD, got the bike checked in without problems. The journey home was pretty uneventful until arriving at Heathrow, waiting for my baggage until the carosel stopped and no bike had appeared. After checking at the desk it seems it was still at Paris where i had got my connecting flight! The man at the desk took my address down and arranged for it to be delivered the next day as it was being sent on the next flight. Luckily the bike arrived this morning so all worked out in the end after dragging it with me on buses for the last 2 months!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb