Ahhhhh South America At Last...


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
October 15th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My new amiga GloriaMy new amiga GloriaMy new amiga Gloria

Gloria looking at the cards
So...

I landed In Bogota Very aware of the Elevation and Temperature here being a bit cooler...I get to the Immigration counter and slide my Passport through the glass slot meanwhile I'm digging in my pockets for the address of the Hostel I'm going to I look back up and dude is just sitting there looking at me and says sarcastically " Hola, Buenas Tardes" Like I was suppose to give a shit, just stamp my shit fuckface, But he would get the last laugh lol, He proceeds to ask me all the routine questions " where are you going, what are you doing etc etc. Then he asks me How many days do you need in Colombia and I say"60 is good" so he stamps my passport and I'm off to get my luggage. I'm waiting for the luggage thing to start and I look at my Passport just 'cause I like to see the stamps and stuff, well dude gave me 30 days..I just started giggling too funny!!!

...It was sunny and about 75 I was thinking to myself "Not bad at all" One cool thing about Bogota airport compared to other airports is once you
Thinking Hard!Thinking Hard!Thinking Hard!

hmmm thinking hard huh?
walk outside you aren't Hoarded by cabbies trying to grab your luggage and rip you off, you walk out to a little gated area with a booth where you tell the lady where you are going, she looks it up on the map and determines the price and gives you the reciept which you give to the driver when you reach your destination..Pretty cool to me anyway.

The city is MUCH more advanced as far as highrises and construction then San Jose was, Probably because it's so much bigger..But anyway that's the first thing that caught my attention. I get to Hostel Bogota Innvisible and I'm greeted by the owner a 30 something Colombian/Italian dude named Giovanni, Right away he offers me a beer and shows me the Bunks which have a fireplace in it which I would learn later why lol. Not many people in my bunk area I met an older Mexican guy and a Girl from Cali ( City in Colombia not the state) she is really cool but her spanish is so fuckin fast I always tell her to slowwwwwww dowwwwn lol she laughs. But yea she speaks some english ( which with her accent OMG is so fuckin hot lol)

Anyways the first Night I sat around with Giovanni, Jorge, The Mexican Dude and Jorge's Girlfriend Just drinking beers and PLENTY of shots of Aguardiente ( It's exactly like Sambuca and Uozo) Enjoyed some Colombian Arepas and the Sausage is OUTSTANDING man Truly happy I decided to start south america!!


Day 2 Me and Gloria ( the girl from Cali) went and walked downtown to see some of the museums and plaza Bolivar. I'm not too much into art as people that know me already know, but Gloria is hot so of course I said yea sure lol. The art Museum is full of Mexican paintings and artists and right next to is the gallery from the famous colombian artist Fernando Botero who apparently likes to paint and sculpt fat people as you'll see lol....we stopped to get a slice of Pizza and a beer the headed back because Gloria needed to get ready to go to some concert with her friends later in the evening, but she wanted to exchange Skypes so that's really cool as I have a new friend when I visit Cali!


anyways I will
Art MuseumArt MuseumArt Museum

No touching!!!! lol
be leaving cold as Bogota in 3 days for the warmer Medellin which should be great as I look forward to eating Calentado for breakfast then Bandeja Paisa for Lunch!! see you in a few days people!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Art Museum1Art Museum1
Art Museum1

Mexican artists
Art Museum2Art Museum2
Art Museum2

Another Painting
Plaza Bolivar BackgroundPlaza Bolivar Background
Plaza Bolivar Background

The Mountain background of Plaza Bolivar
Plaza Bolivar GuardsPlaza Bolivar Guards
Plaza Bolivar Guards

The Army dudes chilling
Plaza Bolivar PigeonsPlaza Bolivar Pigeons
Plaza Bolivar Pigeons

Pigeons everywhere in the plaza
Plaza Bolivar statue1Plaza Bolivar statue1
Plaza Bolivar statue1

The plaza Center and statue
Plaza Bolivar2Plaza Bolivar2
Plaza Bolivar2

The Church opposite the center
Plaza Bolivar4Plaza Bolivar4
Plaza Bolivar4

Plaza Bolivar
Botero Painting1Botero Painting1
Botero Painting1

Thought this was a good shot from down the hall..Kinda gets your attention lol
Botero SculptureBotero Sculpture
Botero Sculpture

Botero Sculpture in the museo but has a bigger version in downtown Medellin
TarjetasTarjetas
Tarjetas

Tarjetas
Thingies lolThingies lol
Thingies lol

Gloria checking out the little view thingies lol
Peek-a-boo!Peek-a-boo!
Peek-a-boo!

Gloria still looking at those thingies


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb