Columbia......caliente!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
April 30th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Causing a sceneCausing a sceneCausing a scene

Jaakko and I goofing around during a petrol break.
Wow I´m supposed to be partaking in a game of cards at the moment but I feel I should tell you a tad bit about my time in Columbia. It´s been great from start to finish. The thing that I noticed most is how nice and helpful the people are. My first day after crossing over from Ecuador I had some troubles finding a bank where I could withdraw money. So the cleaning lady from one of the banks just left work and took me around to all the banks in the area until we found one that worked. I appreciated it so much after getting no help in either Peru or Ecuador with these matters that I went out and bought her a big bouquet of flowers. I think it made her day, but she sure made mine too.

The first few bus rides were interesting. You always have to be prepared for the ride to take a few hours longer than necessary. One time we got stopped by the military at a roadside check and they checked everyone´s bags. Another time there was a huge landslide that totally blocked the road and totalled a gas station on the
Salt Cathedral.Salt Cathedral.Salt Cathedral.

Some guy got the idea to build a cathedral underground in a salt mine. Pretty neat though.
other side. And the way they drive here you always seem to be waiting for a few wrecked vehicles to be towed of the road at some point too. I will never, ever get on another bus without some extra food and water again!

Well there has been too much to write about going on in the past month and a half so I hope the pictures will suffice!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My budz.My budz.
My budz.

Jaakko and Jill.
The camp kitchenThe camp kitchen
The camp kitchen

A little out of the way place in Villa de Leyvha.
Rastafarian busRastafarian bus
Rastafarian bus

The Carribean coast has some great looking buses.
Heading to the beach!Heading to the beach!
Heading to the beach!

Playa Blanca, near Cartagena.
Coco Loco!Coco Loco!
Coco Loco!

This genious was filling coconuts with rum and selling them at the beach. This was our 'house´ and we slept in hammocks the whole time. No fresh water made for some pretty salty characters!
Military searchMilitary search
Military search

This crap happened on the way to Ciudad Perdida (the Lost City) in the jungle outside Santa Marta.
Along the trekAlong the trek
Along the trek

More comfy sleeps in a hammock complete with mosquito net and body odour.
Cocaine concoctorCocaine concoctor
Cocaine concoctor

This was a bullshit tour of a cocaine 'factory´.
Yikes!Yikes!
Yikes!

The most hideous creature I´ve ever seen. Oh, and quite the butterfly too.
The entrance to the lost cityThe entrance to the lost city
The entrance to the lost city

The first few of 2200 steps.
Omar the guide.Omar the guide.
Omar the guide.

This guy was a funny little pervert.


30th April 2008

Amazing
Amazing pictures Scoot. Thanx for sharing them with us. I was afraid you wouldn't have pictures being you lost your camera....how many cameras is that in the last 2 years.....hmmm at least one camera lost every adventure. Miss you! xoxoxoxo
30th April 2008

Right on!
WOW! All I have to say is that you are living the life....that I want! It looks like you are having an amazing time and experiencing so many cool things. How sad you must have been to get rid of the WIT bag...it's been your trusty companion for so long now:( Keep on trekking my friend...and I'll keep on wishing I was there too. Love Rhi xo
20th May 2008

Breath taking!
The pics are beautiful Scott - but I want to see a recent pic of the sexy mullet!! Seriously though you must never want to come back! It's gorgeous...

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb