Hippy haven


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
July 15th 2012
Published: July 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!!

On Friday on our last day in la serena we went to a little museum which had one of the only statues taken off Easter island in it, its prettyannexing how huge it is - I put a picture up but wasn't allowed to stand next to it to show how huge it was! They also had a few mummified bodies from inca times and shrunken heads. The others didn't believe they were real heads but I assured them they were as good old pit rivers museum taught me!

We left la serena on a night bus - which was already delayed 1 hour. The bus was ment to be 17 hours however we broke downjust outside the town where the minors were saved a couple of years ago. After getting back on the road I managed a few hours sleep even though our seats didn't recline like everyone else's! We then had another delay before our final 2 hour journey. Up until this journey I had not felt unwell at all, until I sat down to eat in this beautiful little restaurant in our final destination. I came over really dizzy sick and everything at the same time. This is my first experience of altertude sickness 😞 we are about 2000 ft up but I was the only one to be ill! Sharing bath rooms as its a hostel this time was not a comfort! After a quick lie down I soon felt a bit betterEvernotethou I hadn't eatten for 24 hours! Which we all know Is not like me!

We explored the little town, it's fabulous a little hippy haven 😊 lots of little gems of shops and places to eat. We are now in the middleiPod the driest dessert in the world - tHe aticarma. It's in the middle of mountains and sand dunes. The town is made up of lots of little huts almost looks like Africa. Such a change from south chillie as there are no huge cities. Really hot during the day so I got some use out of shorts but had to invest in an alpaca hat at night sooo cold!

Just got back from the observatory, it was stunning. I no how much dad loves astronomy and wish he could be here! Leatnt all about the constellations and got a fab picture all though sadly its on my camera so you will have to wait till sept to see that one!

Anyway sand boarding and sun bathing tomorrow and the others are in bed so I better get an early night! Will speak tomorrow when hopefully I'm hungry so I can eat as its been a day and a half!

Love you all and hope all is very well!

Em xxxxxx

Advertisement



16th July 2012

Pics
Can't wait to see the starry pics, I bet the hippy shops were right up your street lol, miss you loads sweet heart have fun :) xxx
23rd July 2012

Yes daddy it's a great picture you will love it!! Miss ya lots :) xxx

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb