The Little Things


Advertisement
Published: April 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

!Bienvenido!!Bienvenido!!Bienvenido!

My house in Chile.
I've come to realize that we have assumptions without realizing that we have assumptions. I'm writing this blog because there are so many things that surprise me here in Chile that aren't worth a blog on their own but are definitely worth mentioning. Some are comical, some are just awkward. Get ready!

Okay so:

1) Your underwear. Your whole family sees them. And they touch them. Get used to it. I kid you not! Chileans don't have driers. They just don't. It's not in their culture. We wash our clothes and then hang them on a clothes line outside. That goes for panties and bras as well. Maybe I should have left the Care Bear ones at home?? Hahaha! I didn't know this until I got here and I nearly died of mortification. I'm used to living with just me and my mom. Only females. And I only have sisters. So the idea of hanging up my lacy underthings in front of Papa Samuel and Brother Isaac was daunting to say the least. I asked Papa Samuel if I could please hang it in my room and he said no because the humidity is not good for the wood inside the house. He said I can hang them in the family utility room if I wanted more privacy. So basically instead of dangling outside for the neighbors, they'd dangle in front of everyones' faces as they go into the laundry room. That's what I call "privacy". Haha!

2) A salad equals lettuce. Don't expect salad dressing. Chileans have never heard of it. Yep, you know the salad with the tomatoes, croutons, cheese, and the creamy ranch dressing that makes your mouth water? Yes. That one. It stayed in the States! Haha! You should have seen our faces in Santiago when me and some other ISA students ordered salad for the first time for lunch. Shocker! Just lettuce! I've never heard of such. They offered a little lemon to be squeezed over it or plain oil. Yumm...

3) Water fountains don't exist here. Out and about and need to quench your thirst? Better buy a bottle of water or wait until you get home because there ain't nada. Haha! When we first arrived in the airport in Santiago we were super parched. We looked around, checked near the bathrooms but nope! Finally an ISA staff member informed us that there are none--anywhere--ever. Since then, a water bottle has become my new best friend. :-)

4) Toilet paper is not toilet friendly. In fact they are arch nemesis. Or maybe the plural form is arch nemesi? I don't know. The point is that you better not mix them unless you're ready to turn into Handyman Randy, plumber crack and all. The pipes are really narrow therefore everywhere you go, there are baskets or tiny trashcans beside the toilet for you to toss your tissue paper. And at the house, me and Cassandra have to take turns changing the one in our bathroom. Baby's favorite chore. J/k! Nasty! Haha.

5) Dinner is late--and it's forever. Honestly dinner time has become one of the highlights of my day. It's such a rich time to share with the family. I love it. Usually they'll call us to the table at about 9:15. The table is properly set with all the dishes and everyone joins. Hilariously we don't finish dinner until like midnight! By custom Chileans don't have dinner. Lunch is their biggest meal and at night they have what they call once which is bread and jam, tiny sandwiches, and tea. One of the ISA policies is that the families have to provide dinner for the students so me and Cassandra end up eating both dinner AND once. Holy mother! Hope I don't blow up.

6) Chileans also eat lots of carbs. If it's not rice, it's bread, and if it's not either of those, it's pasta. Many of them eat bread even for breakfast. Chilean bread is delicious...too delicious. That's probably why they're the 2nd most obese country in the world after the United States. Yep, we're still the champs! Unfortunately...haha! But in Chile, their portions are HUGE and it's considered rude if you don't clean your plate. And by clean your plate, I mean if you leave even a scrap, they look at you like you are the most wasteful thing on the planet and they'll ask you to finish your food. For lunch they'll serve us a salad, then a big bowl of soup, then a heap of rice with a big steak, potatoes, pancitos (little breads), and rutabagas. I'm usually full after the soup! And then they give you dessert! Lunch is my hardest meal. Sometimes I feel like I'm just going to explode! And they don't ask us how much we want. They give it to us and expect us to finish it. A couple of days ago, I couldn't finish my pasta because it was a ridiculous portion size. I felt bad but I realize that I'm going to have to start speaking up about my food portions. I'm at the point where I want to be polite but I really don't want to turn into Miss Piggy. They know me a little better now and we get along fabulously so hopefully they can handle it.

7) Want to make-out with your significant other and don't feel like waiting until you get home? Chile is the place to be. These people are not afraid to show the love. There is PDA (public displays of affection) all over the place and it's completely normal. From middle-aged couples with children, to the young adolescents, they're smootchin'. It doesn't matter if they're in the discoteca or the micro during rush hour, there is no embarrassment.

8) Before going grocery shopping, you not only need to ask yourself if the store has it, but if it exists. Reece's Peanut Butter Cups, frozen pie crusts, brown sugar, ranch/blue cheese dressing, and caramel, are some of the things I have looked for that are not available here. And it is quite the experience going to the store and looking through brands that are totally foreign and not even being able to read the nutritional content on the back because it's in a foreign system. This fascinates me and I love it because it makes me understand how immigrants probably feel when they come to the United States. I want to make certain desserts but I can't. I'm fine with that because I know that I'll be able to have those foods again. But I can only imagine, for example, someone who comes to the U.S. as a refugee and will perhaps never find specific ingredients to make certain cultural foods ever again. It's nice seeing this from the other side.

9) No house has central heat or air. ISA advised that we pack clothes that we can layer because when the winter comes, it's going to be quite chilly in Chile.

10) Water comes with gas and is not free. For those of you who are wondering what agua con gas (water with gas) is, it tastes like a soda when the flavoring runs out in a fountain drink machine. It's carbonated water and I find it slightly bitter. When you go to a restaurant and ask for water they'll automatically ask you "con gas o sin gas?" And then they'll bring it to you in a bottle. And when you ask for agua de la llave (tap water), they give you strange looks. Haha! But at least it's free. :p I don't like agua con gas because it doesn't quench your thirst.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb