War of the Pacific


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Horcon
May 28th 2010
Published: May 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One of my ClassesOne of my ClassesOne of my Classes

These girls are sophomores in the Buisness Administration magnet.
Chile recently celebrated it's victory in the War of the Pacific where they basically took land from Boliva and Peru, causing Bolivia to be the land locked country it is today. Boliva is still protesting to get this land back. There were marches all over the country and that included my school. For 5 days leading up to the parade the students practiced marching around the courtyard. This all took place during school hours disrupting all classes, but that is another blog entry.
School all over the Puchuncavi community (our "county") came to participate in the march down the main road in Ventanas and the WHOLE town was there to watch it. It was a BIG deal. 😊 After marching with my students down the street I was greeted with hugs and congratulations for my first parade (there are more of these?!) Now I am a real Chileana to everyone in town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Our BandOur Band
Our Band

So much rehearsal before the big day.
Everyone Line UpEveryone Line Up
Everyone Line Up

Even the dogs :)
Day of the ParadeDay of the Parade
Day of the Parade

Headed downtown.
My StudentsMy Students
My Students

Seniors in the B.Admin program.
HuasosHuasos
Huasos

Chilean cowboys
The BandThe Band
The Band

So much hard work and they were great!


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb