I don't believe it!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 18th 2013
Published: February 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Nets in a hostel!Nets in a hostel!Nets in a hostel!

Nets and sunshine, with a beer..
Believe me, I am sitting in the garden of a hostel in the downtown region of Santiago, drinking a beer beside the pool (can you picture this?) and the other side is a homemade cricket net in which the Chilean side are practising... Yes the sound of bat and ball has followed me here! The owner of the hostel is a cricket mad Ozzie who had space in his garden, what else would he put there! Lovely treat!



The journey here was this year's white knuckle ride over the Andes on the Los Liberatores Pass. It has only just opened again after being destroyed by rain and hail last week. There is only one carriageway in existence, the diggers are working like mad to renew the second, so at the moment it seems to be a one way system. Terrifying! The photos are there in spite of my fear ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Feel the fear..Feel the fear..
Feel the fear..

The corners were extremely tight. Ugh!
Road building.Road building.
Road building.

The second lane is under wraps as rain is forecast.
Part of the convoy.Part of the convoy.
Part of the convoy.

The speed was slow, very slow.
Welcome to Chile!Welcome to Chile!
Welcome to Chile!

What a road!


18th February 2013

Oh god
Please tell me you simply watched with a beer and a smile rather than trying to join in with some coaching? Road journey looks interesting but at least it doesn't seem like they are the kind of roads you could fall off all that easily. Perhaps the camera dumbs dwn the drops somewhat. Travel safe and leave the cricketers in their overly narrow nets alone!
18th February 2013

Watched?
I watched and talked to them about the team and kept all other thoughts to myself! But the film crew were another matter lol!
18th February 2013

Roads
Well at least the road down the coast in Oman was all gravel !! non of this tarmac stuff :))
18th February 2013

Angle of steepness!
Yes, but it was nothing like this , which was half gravel!
18th February 2013

I told you!
I told you that the road zigzags like crazy with hairpin bends seconds apart, a daunting sight when you are at the top of the pass. It was hairy for me and I don't fear heights and worse still with one lane only. Well done, you made it, together with any organic material you had from Cordoba which I assume you smuggled through Chilean customs (we have all done it!!)
18th February 2013

Smuggler - moi?
I am now the proud owner of a new jam spoon.... Wooden jam spoon lol!
19th February 2013

Spoon
And a mighty fine spoon it is! When you mentioned a 'jam spoon', I was expecting a dainty teaspoon not a monstrous weapon that quietly put the fear of God in me! "I'd better be good," I thought, "I'd better feed her well and ply her gently with Malbec!"
19th February 2013

stuff of nightmares
Liz - when I think of some of my frights whilst being driven in a car (it never seems quite as bad when you are driving), I hide my head in shame because it was nothing - nothing - like this. We found ourselves on a viaduct in Northern Spain. There were two lanes open - one each way on either side of a very wide stretch of roadworks. A very nervous driver (guess who) asked me what was the other side of the wall along which we were driving. I pretended I couldn't hear him because the answer was a very long drop - a VERY long drop. I spent the next week trying to find an alternative route for our return journey and the only option was a mountain road which looked worse! I will now never go on a route with such roads - so I am in awe of you! Enjoy and please keep safe! The cricket on the other hand..... Eileen
19th February 2013

Nightmares!
I comforted myself with the thought that the driver knew what he was doing and obviously did not share my fears, but i was so glad to reach the valley at the bottom!

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb