Santiago in 2 Days: Good Planning, Good Timing, or Good Luck??


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
January 8th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes even I don't know how I get to where I am going. I left beautiful little Mendoza on the January 6th after a change of plans to where I was originally planning to head to next. I really had wanted to fly to Northern Patagonia to raft a whitewater river called Futaleufu. Erin, who climbed with me, was also going to come; however, after missing a bus to get us to Santiago where we would have flown there, and then finding out the only real alternative was to stay another day in Mendoza and take a bus that would have taken 25+hrs, I figured it was time to reassess. It also made me look at how far behind I was in my travel schedule - about 5 days. The trip to Futaleufu would have taken that long so it got the axe unfortunately. I have put it on the next South American trip. 😊

Note to file: if you are planning to travel by bus, it is, I guess, a good idea to book ahead. Fortunately, however, I took a chance at showing up at the bus station the next morning at 7am and got the last ticket to Santiago. Good planning, good timing, or good luck??

The bus ride through the Andes was spectacular. Driving through mountains (tunnels right through the mountain) and down the side of them (it over 20 switchbacks to get down the side of a steep mountain side).

Another Note to File: the scheduled trip lent from Mendoza to Santiago is suppose to be 7hrs. However, they fail to include the insane time it takes to cross the border - FOUR HOURS! Not exactly sure what the hold up was. I just followed the crowds, hoping there was not a hefty VISA entry fee, because i had not changed any money before i lefted Mendoza and all I had was US$20 on me. Fortunately no fee and no need for cash. Good planning, good timing, or good luck??

Another Note to File: when arriving in Santiago in the summer it is a good idea to book your accommodations ahead of time. Before I left Mendoza I wrote down the names of a few hostels in the center of the city near many of the attractions thinking it shouldn't be a problem to walk in and get a room.

Arriving at the bus station I lucked out that it was walking distance to the hostels (google maps works just as good in Santiago as it does in Ottawa). So I headed with two packs strapped to my back, looking forward to a shower and bed. I got slightly worried when the first hostel was full, a little bit more worried when the second one was also full. I upgraded my already tired state to worried when the third one was also full, however the girl called around and found a hostel which had room (by this time it is about 10pm). To my surprise it was a great little hostel in an old heritage building, super clean and chic. And as a bonus I got a 4 bed room to myself. Good planning, good timing, or good luck??

After a shower that I didn't want to get out of I went next door to a charming restaurant where I ended up striking a conversation with a Chilian couple. He could speak a little French and she could speak a little English. So between the three of us we patched together a conversation about Canada and Chile. 😊

One last note to file: probably would have been wise to bring along a Spanish/English dictionary on this trip. None of the countries I am visiting speak any English. I'm been thinking Black Berry has to have a translation app. Just "speak into the mike" and Shazam, instant translation. I should check into that before I get back home. 😊 So far, however, I have been able to manage with Si, No, gracios, no gacios, mucho gracios, por pavor, no por parvor (not sure if I am spelling these words right, my Spanish spelling is worse than my speaking); a few numbers and of course a big smile. 😊 Good planning, good timing, or good luck??

The next day I moved hostels to be closer to the main attractions. The hostel was literally over looking Plaza de Armas and the rest of the day I explored the main attractions and neighbourhoods. I had planned to try see all the major attractions in one day, but the afternoon sun got to me and siesta was calling, so I fell asleep in front of a beautiful fountain at Cerro Santa Lucia (Santa Lucia Hill).

After a quick trip planning session on the internet yesterday evening I pegged my hope on getting out of Santiago and heading up to northern Chile on catching a 3pm flight. Unfortunately I couldn't book the flight online and would have to show up to the airport (needed a Chilean address to book online).

Sunday morning I awoke regretting that I didn't make it up Cerro San Cristobal (San Cristobal Hill). Supposedly there are great views of the city with the Andes Mountains in the background. As well you get to ride a Fanicular, a wire rope car that goes right up the side of the hill (it sounded cool). I had a decision to make. Play it safe, forget about Cristobal and head to the airport early, or go for it and let Fate take care of it. Wasn't much of a decision, especially when you believe in Fate. 😊

The sights from atop Cristobal were worth the risk of missing the flight. From on top of Cristobal Hill you have spectacular views of the city and the mountains. It really puts Santiago into perspective. Riding the finacular was cool as well; it is almost vertical! Unfortunately as good as the views were, they can
Protesta!Protesta!Protesta!

Students have been protesting against the cost of education.
be better when the smog isn't so bad.

After a short visit to Cristobal Hill and a stroll through the Bellavista neighbourhood (there are some great little neghborhoods in Santago where you can eat, drink and chill during the hot summer days) I rushed back to the hostel with 1hr 40min to pick up my bags and run (as best I could with 50lbs on my back) to a bus stop that I was told an airport bus stops at. I knew the stop; however, when I got there the bus stop actually had 3 platforms covering 3 blocks. To compound matters it struck me when I was running to the stop that I was not really sure which direction the bus would be travelling. All I knew was the bus's name had airport in it. 😊 So I kept looking at the bus names at each platform. I ran to all three nothing. Then I decided to look across the boulevard, and to my joy there was a bus with airport written on the side. 😊 After navigating through the traffic on the 6 lane Boulevard I jumped on the bus as the door closed behind me. Good
Doggy time out.Doggy time out.Doggy time out.

I don´t know what it is about Mendoza and now Santiago, but there are stray dogs everwhere and no cats??
planning, good timing, or good luck??

Now, I just needed to get to the airport in time. I knew it was going to be razor thin. I was banking on two things: 1) foreign regional airlines are not anal about check in times like North American ones are, and , 2) is anything really on time in South America.

I arrived at the airport with just under 40 minutes to departure. Luckily I found the ticket counter right away. A dash to the check in line and voila, here I am writing this on the plane to northern Chile.

There you have it. Santiago in two days. In by bus, out by plane. So I leave you to decide, Santiago: good planning, good timing, or good luck??

P.s. I didn't book a room in San Pedro where I am heading now. Give me a break, I was in a rush. I did write down the name of a few hostels though. I'm sure I should be able to walk in and get a room. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Neptune´s Fountain at Santa Lucia HillNeptune´s Fountain at Santa Lucia Hill
Neptune´s Fountain at Santa Lucia Hill

I fell asleep in front of this fountain.
Santiago SubwaySantiago Subway
Santiago Subway

I´m not sure which version I like - colour or BW
Dog days of summerDog days of summer
Dog days of summer

Once again, dogs everywhere!


10th January 2012

Horsehoe Up Your Ass
Hi Joel, I thought it was you I saw in that piece of junk bus on that episode of Deadliest Roads I watched on the Discovery Channel last night. There were two chickens and a duck sitting on a llama in the seat next to you right? This trip is something else...it's going to make navigating Lochside Road seem like a real piece of cake. Take care my friend and good timing, planning and luck!

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb