Santiago, Lollapalooza and a Weekend of Craziness


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 4th 2011
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow. The last few days have been craaaaaazzzzzy!!!!! The hostel party was wild. Everyone got totally hammered and had a great time. Our new Dutch friends are awesome and these girls are a riot. It was one of the girl’s birthday and they had cake and we all drank Pisco and were up super late drinking with probably 35 people or more here at the hostel. Probably more honestly. We had the great idea to go to the strip club with some girls from here at like 3am. It was pretty lame, the girls were gross and it was certainly not the awesome time we had at “Amanacer” in Peru, which coincidentally means, till the sun comes up! After the strip club we pretty much crashed around 4 or 5am. We got up around 11 and got our lives together slightly for the concert. I was pretty hung over, as usual here in Santiago and it was a semi struggle to get up but we made it happen. We had some breakfast, a small sandwich at a restaurant on one of the main pedestrian walks here, we ate with a girl named Hope and Brett and Joey. After that Brett, Joey, and I headed to the metro to get on it and go to Lolla. We got to the concert and there weren’t all that many people there because it was early but as the day went on it filled up and also as we’d find out, Sunday there were waaay more people there. I am pretty sure that a lot of Chileans went there Saturday and then told all their friends about it and everyone went Sunday because it was packed. First of all there were thousands of the most beautiful women I have ever seen which was awesome for people watching, not to mention all the people there that were just dressed totally ridiculous or with crazy t shirts on. It was great to say the least! The only drawback we found was that they didn’t serve any alcohol there!! Only in VIP could you get alcohol and that ticket was super expensive and we didn’t purchase it beforehand because we didn’t know! We had a very sober Saturday watching the bands that we saw but it didn’t bother me at all because I remember it all and I did end up being able to share some yerba Buena with a few random dudes in the crowds. On Saturday we saw: Los Bunkers, Steel Pulse, DJ Raff, Cypress Hill, Ben Harper, (one song) Bomba Estereo (however this band was great of what we saw and they played at a small club in Provedencia whereJoey and went and saw them late night but I’ll discuss that in a few minutes), CSS, The Killers, and Fatboy Slim. I only saw two songs of the killers and chose to see Fatboy Slim which I think was a good choice because he was amazing and rocked the house out for shizzle. Brett and Joey watched the killers and didn’t see Fatboy Slim, I went with a girl named Cameron who works here at the hostel she is very cool and we had a great time jamming out. Cypress Hill and Ben Harper were amazing and DJ Raff was also really cool. If you have any interest I suggest you download some of the music you don’t know on here, especially Bomba Estereo because they are just fucking awesome. The hostel we are staying at rented a private bus for us and we took that back home which was great because the sheer amount of people made it nearly impossible to take the metro or cabs or busses. We got back to the hostel and Joey and I had some more drinks, Brett went to bed because he had to run the Santiago half marathon the next morning. He did really well and set a personal best record for himself, 1 hour and 7 minutes I think is what it was for 13 miles. Not bad at all. Everyone should congratulate him. As far as my night, it was really fun. Joey and I went to this bar and it was full of Chileans and Bomba Estereo was playing a late night set there and they went on around 2.30a. They rocked the house and played for about an hour. It was so cool to see them in this place, there were probably 100 people there or less and I got right to the front of the stage and the lead singer chick was just looking right at me spitting rhymes. I had my shirt off because it was so sweaty and hot, it was an amazing experience and something I will never forget that is for sure. Joey and I were pretty drunk considering we hadn’t had anything to drink all day and only ate that small breakfast sandwich and a small burrito for lunch. We met some Chilean girls there and we were dancing with them most of the night and getting more and more drunk, the girl I was dancing with was pretty cool but I was so wasted that my Spanish wasn’t that great and she was giving me shit telling me that my Spanish was only so so and correcting me all the time. It was humorous to me. The lights came on in the club which is pretty usual around here since we close every bar we go to and we got ourselves a cab. We asked the cabbie if he knew of anywhere we could get food at that time which was like 5am and he said sure and took us to some neighborhood in Santiago that was definitely no place tourists go to. It was this little sandwich stand on a dimly lit street and the ladies there as well as the people who were eating there said we were the first white people they had seen there in nearly ten years! How crazy. We each had two sandwiches and then took another cab home. We got back at 6am and went to bed only to get up again at 11am which was even more rough than the previous morning. We got up and went and got some beer and some Pisco because we knew that we’d have to sneak some liquor in this time and we’d have a better time. We had some booze and then met up with our new Dutch friends and some other people that were attending the concert. These Dutch girls are crazy, they were ripping the vodka right out of the water bottle they put it in, which we guys had to crotch since they didn’t have anywhere to put them in their dresses. We saw on Sunday I think a better lineup that Saturday and the bands included: 311, Chico Trujillo, The Flaming Lips (a little), Sublime with Rome, Boys Noize, Kanye West, Armin Van Buuren. Again, if you haven’t heard of any of the bands above, download the music. The music from all of them fucking rocked it out!!!!! I can’t tell you how awesome it was to see all of these bands. Armin Van Buuren was such an amazing show I can’t even explain the craziness of how clubbed out this place was when he was playing. He went off the stage and then came back on and we rushed up to the front and got to see him super close up it was awesome. After the bar everyone we were with came back to our hostel and we all went out to a neighborhood around here that had some bars open, since it was Sunday it was pretty tough to find something but we went to a little bar where we were the only gringos, which is pretty usual, however this time there were like 15 of us and we certainly stood out. We had a beer and went down the street to a salsa club which was pretty much the only place open at that time of night and that day. We danced some salsa (poorly of course) and chilled with the girls we were with, these Dutch girls are the shit and we had an amazing time with them, we danced all night along with Aaron, an Aussie that we met here and the rest of the group. Bomba Estereo is playing at this place too tomorrow night and we are heading there to see them again, I am like a Bomba Estereo groupie it seems like but they are so good I just can’t get enough. This lead singer chick was just staring right at me rapping when I was in the club the night before and she was looking right at me pointing and I couldn’t get enough. So yes needless to say I will be there tomorrow night as close to the stage as I can be getting nuts. Today (Monday) was a wash. Everyone in the hostel was just recovering from Lolla, lounging around and doing nothing. Everyone got up at like 1pm. The Dutch girl Marjolien came to meet me at 1pm and I had gotten up not ten minutes before so I had to get my shit together quickly. I took some laundry to the lavanderia because I have no clean clothes and currently am wearing my gym shorts and a t-shirt because I have nothing else! We went to the park and chilled for a while on the grass. We saw a car accident nearby and watched that mayhem for a while but it was nice we just talked and hung out for about an hour. She is a very cool girl and I really enjoy her company. We came back to the hostel and everyone was still just reeling from the days before and we all chilled out for a while. Joey, Brett, and I went to the grocery store and bought some food finally to make a proper dinner for once in the last few days! After that we bought some shampoo and some soap since we hadn’t had either in a few days, gross I know. We made dinner, steak, and veggie kabobs and I sat out here on the porch typing for the last four hours drinking wine, a bunch of people were out here so we were using the computer and jamming some music and talking so it’s taken me a lot longer to write this than I planned but it’s not like 1am and I am about to finish finally! Enjoy the pictures! They aren’t in a good order some of them but you can tell what is the hostel and what is Lolla and what is the club and el resto tu sabes. Se cuidan todos y vamos a hablar muy pronto. Me encanta todos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 112, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



5th April 2011

whaaat?!
I hate u, u saw armin van buuren!!!!! ;) good to know u guys are having fun over there. im enjoying the cherry blossoms here, so beautiful! now in nagasaki and day after tomorrow back to Osaka. take care guys! kisses and hugs :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb