One month down!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
March 17th 2011
Published: March 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy One-Month Anniversary to Santiago and I!

We got off to a (predictably) rough start, but our relationship is certainly improving with time. With the coffee issue resolved and new pillows on my bed, I'm sleeping better and mornings are sweeter. If only I could block out the perpetual, grinding-on-my-nerves noise of traffic, life would be great.

Today, March 13, is not only my one month anniversary of arriving in Chile, it's also my two-week anniversary of living in my new apartment. Without further ado, here is the GRAND TOUR (see photos).

We have a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen. Both my roommates have their own balconies off their bedrooms, so the balcony off the living room is mine. We do have a washer in the apartment, but no dryer, so we hang everything out to dry. My room (traditionally where the maid/nanny of the house stayed) is small, but I have my very OWN bathroom! Having grown up with three brothers, a private bathroom is the epitome of luxury. The rest of the apartment is large and airy. I usually camp out at the dining room table to work and study. I'm settling in nicely.

My roommates are great. One is Mexican and one is Chilean. They've been very welcoming and above all, accommodating. In fact, the Chilean (who owns the apartment) prefers to live with foreigners "because they make better roommates." Both the roomies have full-time jobs (one of them has a full-time job AND a part-time job) so they aren't around much. I think my favorite day of the week is Friday, when I don't have class and get the apartment entirely to myself.

Update at 1500 - I think I just felt my first earthquake tremor. Our building definitely shook (the water in my glass shook too), and it couldn't have been wind or anything else. Given the recent events in Japan, I was quite alarmed, though it only lasted for a few seconds. I doubt most Chileans even noticed. I, however, am not accustomed to the EARTH MOVING. Happy One-Month Anniversary indeed. Welcome to Chile, Jamie.

Update at 1600 - It WAS an earthquake - in Valparaiso, which is about two hours away. It was a 4.9 in Valpo, which means it was probably a 2 here in Santiago. And no, my Chilean roommate (also at home when it happened), didn't notice. http://www.cooperativa.cl/sismo-de-menor-intensidad-se-sintio-en-valparaiso-o-higgins-y-el-maule/prontus_nots/2011-03-13/150915.html


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb