New Year's Eve


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Let's see - not much is new and exciting in my world. Yesterday I ventured to a mall in Las Condes, which is one of the sectors of Santiago. It reminded me a lot of Bal Harbor in Florida - very nice houses, cars, and very well-dressed people. I had lunch at T.G.I. Fridays - HAHA! I had a craving for something Americano I guess.

I bought Burberry Cologne, which only ended up costing $18 when I checked my account on Bank Of America. I can't believe how cheap things are here. Today, I bought a 24'' TV at a department store and it was only $67 - bizarre. My apartment had a TV but it's only 13'' and was ugly. . . anyway . . .

I also went back to the grocery store, after I had a chance to rest (unlike Sunday when I went on about 45 minutes of sleep) and had a much better experience. I have noticed a few things. . . the bread is out in the open, not covered or anything, and you just pick it out with your hands. Also, if you buy fresh produce, you have to take it to a counter in the back of the store to get it weighed and a ticket printed - they DO NOT do it at the cajero and if you go there with un-weighed produce, they get very angry - luckily I didn't understand much of what they were saying! 😊 Two more observations are . . . things aren't packaged in jars or cans, like mayonnaise or tomato sauce - it's in bags. . . really weird! And, what's with the yogurt? It's like water. I guess I will just have to get used to these things - lol!

I also went to the Pharmacy, to buy lotion, which was interesting. Its a store front with a counter and the 'store' is behind the counter. So, you just tell the associates what you want and they get it for you - I like that method of shopping!

Today, I just piddled around and rested. I am going out with my new amigos from my previous post tonight for Ano Nuevo - hopefully it's a good time! I also bought batteries and a soap dispenser- what an exciting life, huh?

Happy New Year everyone!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb