"School´s Out for the Summer"


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Biobío » Concepción
December 4th 2009
Published: December 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

campus mascot
Last I left off it was Thanksgiving. It was a very long day. We had class all day from 9am until 2pm. After class I went to 30 Express (a restaurant) to get empanadas with Lindsey, Lucas, Catie and Christina. I got one with cheese and meat and one with cheese and corn. We waited quite awhile but they were delicious as always. After we ate we went to the grocery store to buy our food to make Thanksgiving dinner. Christina and I were helping with salad.
We bought what we needed and walked to Profe´s house to get started making our salad. We arrived around 4pm and everyone was supposed to meet there at 5pm. I was under the impression that all the food would be ready by 5 but I should have known better. We made our salad and helped set up the room for dinner. Profe had a friend who got turkey breasts for us and helped cook them. She didn´t arrive until around 530 so the turkey wasnt ready until probably 730. We waited around just conversing until it was time to eat. Our dinner consisted of turkey, salad, potatoes, bread, green bean casserole and pumpkin pie
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

30 express
with ice cream. It was delicious. The dinner was very nice and I thought it turned out well.
After dinner I helped clean up a bit and headed out. We had a big test the next day and I needed to study. I decided to walk with Sam towards campus and I could just catch my collectivo there. I saw one while we were walking but I let it go, thinking there would be lots of them. The next two I saw were full. I waited and waited and waited. I finally got tired of waiting and decided to cross the street and take a different number that didn´t pass as close to my house because I really wanted to get home. Those collectivos were also full. I saw the one I wanted across the street and tried to cross and catch it. I didn´t make it. I waited and waited some more. I saw Amy and Chris and talked to them on the street for a while. I was getting REALLY frustrated. All I wanted to do was go home! FINALLY one came. I was very relieved however I was pretty upset when Jess A got in the SAME
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Thanksgiving!
collectivo as me. She had just left Profe´s. I had waited probably 45 minutes for a collectivo. I was so tired and angry. I should have just taken the bus but I didn´t want to since it was getting dark out.
I got out at Jess´s house and walked to my house. I just went straight up to my room and laid on my bed for awhile. I talked to my parents on skype for awhile to wish them a Happy Thanksgiving. Aunt Mary was there because her and my mom were going shopping in the morning. After I talked to them I called Alicia and talked to her for awhile. I had promised her that I would call. After we talked I studied for awhile and then went to bed.
We usually don´t have class on Fridays but today we did. At 10am we had an exam. We were all so worried about it. We arrived at the place she told us to meet. It turned out that we were all taking the test in a tiny little meeting room. It was very cozy to say the least. They test wasn´t too horrible. After the test I walked to
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

centerpiece. Hand turkey compliments of ME
the Plaza Peru with Lindsey to check out the book fair that was going on. We had a makeup class at noon. It was not too exciting. After class I went home and ate lunch. After lunch I took a wonderful and much needed nap. After my nap I went for a run. I tried a new route that I had scoped out. It was nice and flat and longer than my usual route. After running I spent the rest of the night doing homework.
Saturday, I literally spent the whole day on homework. I went for a run before lunch. After lunch Christina came over to study and use the internet. My host dad informed us later that they were having people over so we couldn´t study too late. We were planning on going out later so I just got ready and went to Christinas house with her around 7. I ate cena ate her house and then we met everyone at Tercer Tiempo. Later we went to Knockout. It was a lot of fun. I´m gonna miss nights like those when we go back.
Sunday I did more homework. I went for a run in the afternoon and
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

pumpkin pie, yummy
then it was back to business. Monday it was back to class again, for our last week! In one class we had to read a poem and analyze it as our final. We had class until one. After class we stuck around to work on our group project and other homework. After awhile we went to get something to eat. I went to Cinco Minutos with Christina. I got a chicken sandwich. We went back to the University and waited. We were meeting with a professor at 5 to do a final. We had to meet with him in groups of four. We read a story outloud and then talked about it. It was fairly painless but we had to wait awhile for our turn. I finally got home around 7. I decided just to go running right away since I wasn´t hungry and if I didn´t go right away, then I would never go. I came back and ate my lunch/supper. I spent the rest of the night working on homework.
Tuesday we had class from 10 to 2:30. We were all pretty stressed out and crabby on Tuesday. After class I took the bus to the mall with
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

my dinner
Jess and Christina. I bought stuff to make taco dip for my family. Before I left the mall, I wanted to use the ATM. I walked up to the ATM and could not remember my pin number. I decided to try it anyways. Bad idea. After a few tries, the ATM took my card 😞 I should have known. Good thing I have an extra one.
I walked home. I worked on homework for a little bit and the made taco dip. It turned out a little but more liquid than I would have liked but it wasn´t bad. The only thing that I was missing was shredded cheddar cheese but that basically doesn´t exist here. I went back to doing my homework. Later, when my family got home, I shared my taco dip with them. They liked it. I called my parents on skype and then later I called my grandma and grandpa Hundt to wish my grandma a late Happy Birthday. I stayed up late doing homework, again.
Wednesday was the same schedule. I had class from 10 to 2:30. We were a little less crabby Wednesday but still stressed. After class we took a little time to enjoy the nice day and went and got a snack at El Ombligo. After we worked on our group project. Christina had to use my computer to do her powerpoint because she has a mac. I went home around 5. I ate my lunch, did some homework and then managed to drag myself out for a short run. After I ran I went back to homework for the rest of the night. Only one more day of class to go!
The last day of class was finally here! I got up early to put the finishing touches on our powerpoint and print my papers. I showered and ate some breakfast and was off to class. I thought we were supposed to start class at 9 but it ended up not being until 945. My group went first. We went a bit long but so did everyone else. I was just glad to have it over with. We had another class at 12:30. In that class we just had a little quiz and were done. After that Alison, Catie and I went and got mexican food and then ice cream. We had our last final meeting at 3 so we had
Photo 9Photo 9Photo 9

pumpkin pie.. too bad one pie for 20 people
some time to waste.
At 3 we went up to meet with Professor Ostria to report about 2 books we should have read. Basically nobody read them because they were hard and we didn´t realy think we would have to do anything with them. We met with him 2 at a time. I went with Jess A. I felt like my meeting went well. I didn´t read the books but I at least attempted and researched them well on the internet so I knew what happened in them. After my meeting I was home free. I took the bus home. I spent some time cleaning my room and going through my stuff. We were having an appreciation dinner for our host parents at 7:30 so I got ready to go. 7:20 rolled around and I was beginning to think that no one was going to go with me. My host dad finally came home from work and we went. My host mom stayed home to study with my brothers because they have a big week of testing coming up. On a side note, my host brother broke his arm at school today playing soccer. He actually had to have like a mini surgery on his arm because it was pretty bad. Poor kid! It was his right arm too so I hope he is left handed!
The dinner was kind of boring or at least I thought so. We sat with Evin, Brad, Eric and their families. We were served a salad, then some meat and potato things, and then ice cream. The ice cream was my favorite. We left pretty soon after it was done because Jorge had lots of stuff to do.
Tomorrow morning I am leaving for Pucon until Monday. We are going to climb a volcano, go white water rafting and do a zip line. I´m really excited! Yay for no school and beautiful weather! Thats all for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

book fair
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

pretty flower
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Christina and I
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

taco dip
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

lounging in the sun on campus


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb