A Little Update


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Copiapó
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

James, Yaya and MeJames, Yaya and MeJames, Yaya and Me

James and me with Yaya at her birthday party a few weeks ago
hello all!
its been a while since ive updated the blog.... Im back in Copiapó, and after moving around a bit ive now settled in living with James´s grandmother ("Yaya") and am doing really well despite a recent hospital trip for a bad reaction to some sort of bug bite.
The house is really nice, I´ve got a good sized room to myself with plenty of space, a big bed, an ironing table to put Chicha´s cage on and a nice set of drawers for my clothes (i spent a few weeks between the house of my program counsellor and James´s house living out of my suitcase, which made me discover that i like having a set place to live and sleep and put my clothes).

I´m back in school, and all is good in that respect (although i think i have a bit of senioritus, even though they put me back in the 3rd year class... i have the tendancy now to look at a test and think waaait does this really matter? i already got into college!)
speaking of colleges...
I have been accepted to Juniata ($12,000 scholarship), McDaniel ($10,000 ), Guilford ($2,250), Elizabethtown ($16,000), and Warren Wilson ($4,000)! I´m planning to major in social work (and probably specialize in something kid related like International Child Welfare) and its looking like my decision is down to being between Elizabethtown (in PA) and Warren Wilson (in NC).

so all is well, and hopefully I´ll get some more pictures up soon... i dont have internet at the house but i use internet in a little place about five minutes walking distance called a "cyber".
only two more months left here in chile! yikes!

Advertisement



28th March 2009

thanks for the update
Tammy, congratulations on ... finally having a place once again to put Chicha's cage, your clothes and yourself! It's the little things. and the big things - like being accepted to all those great schools! big congrats there! I was able to write a letter of recommendation for you for the FHS scholarship application system - a pleasure by the way. It's always pleasant to take a moment and think wonderful thoughts about someone. Jon got accepted to all of his schools with good scholarship offers as well. He visits Roger Williams today and will probably sign the paperwork and hand over his Visa card to become a member of the RWU class of 2013. Mike Bouchie is also going to RWU. I've loved following your blog updates. enjoy the last couple months, and we'll see if we can get Spring to arrive back here before you do! cheers, cyndy
28th March 2009

senioritis
Nice picture, Tam! And about senioritis - don't forget that colleges are very aware of senioritis - they require you to submit your final transcript and all of your lovely offers of admission are contingent upon a strong finish! So keep up the good work!
28th March 2009

thanks!
thanks so much for the recommendation! and send some congrats to Jon on the colleges! the last time i talked to him I think he was actually still waiting to hear back from Roger Williams! I am definately trying my best to enjoy my last couple months (actually less than two now)... but its kind of bittersweet because its hard to just enjoy myself and not think about how much I´m going to miss everyone and everything when I´m back in the states! so glad you´ve enjoyed following the blog :) hopefully this week I´ll get some pictures up from my end of summer trip to Santiago, and a few recent pics of what im up to now!
29th March 2009

Welcome Back!
Tammy - It's very good to hear from you again and congratulations from both of us on all of the acceptances. Discovering the joys of life's little comforts is a sure sign of getting older, so welcome to the club. The snow is gone, it's raining, and the crocuses are up; soon the turtlenecks will come off for a day, then come right back on as reality strikes Cape Cod yet again.
2nd April 2009

CROCUSES!
ooooooh i miss crocuses. and i didnt even realize it until you mentioned them.... so many springs of checking out by the mailbox every morning to see if the crocuses were peeking out yet! getting older? i dont think i want to do that though... like i recently told a friend, i hope time just froze while i was gone and nobody has gotten older or changed or anything strange like that... haha... yeah i guess i probably am getting older though... thanks for the congrats and cant wait to see you all in a little over a month!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb