repelling was not to be


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We soon settled back in Putre in Chakana mountain lodge and having been a wee bit stagnant for some time we decided on another trek, John decided it was time for me to learn how to repel, Oh lordie!

We climbed a nearby "hill" (my arse Mallorey would have been proud of me) Again I am reminded how I love to trek but just don't get the same satisfaction from climbing, Perhaps I am spoiled and not at all versed on the gratification of achieving such heights (pardon the pun).

We reached the top much to my amazement and tried to find a spot to tie off the anchor (I hope I'm getting the repelling jargon correct) I was doubtful of my abilities but decided I needed to "cowboy up" and just go for it, We never found the desired safe anchor as all the rocks were too large or unstable, yet from the bottom it looked like there were numerous possibilities, mores the shame eh? We walked along the top of the cliff and the views more than made up for my immense disappointment, John showed me some fox dropping complete with rodent bones and this was undoubtedly the highlight of the trek. We tried to descend from several different locations and found it impossible, eventually we found an area that leads to some of the old Inka terracing and made our way down arriving in an abandoned military barracks, We walked the old road back to the Hostel where we relaxed and had a much needed cup of tea, although we didn't achieve what we set out to do, it turned out to be a lovely day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb