The World´s Driest Desert!


Advertisement
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tatio GeysersTatio GeysersTatio Geysers

The ground was full of holes that would sudednly shoot up with boiling water.
I just got back from San Pedro de Atacama- the world´s driest desert that is full of lakes, salt flats, flamingos, volcanos, etc. I went with two girls I met in classes, one from the French island of Guatalupe and the other from England. Usually I´m not a big fan of tours but in the Atacama it´s the only way to see everything, so our days were full of tours. San Pedro is a touristy little town that is surrounded by salt flats and volcanos, truely the most beautiful desert I´ve ever seen.

The first day we swam in Laguna Cejar, which is compared to the Dead Sea, it´s 35% salt. It was absolutely freezing but worth the goosebumps- really bizaar not being able to sink. We visited Dos Ojos, which are two other little lakes in the middle of the vast salt flats and finished out the day drinking pisco sours and watching the sun set over Deben Quinche (another lake!). The reflection of the colorful sunset on the lake with the volcanos and abosolutely nothing else in sight was ah-mazing!! That night we found a little restaurant that had no name and was basically an old woman cooking traditional Chilean food. It was by far the best meal I´ve eaten since I got here- appetizer, meal, drink and dessert for about $6 US.

The next day we took a minibus to Laguna Chaxa, which is a protected region for Flamingos. We stopped in a little town called Tocano, which is known for it´s buildings made out of volcano dust called ¨Laparita¨ (which sounds cool but it looks exactly like cement!). We ate in that town then headed off to the Antiplano Lakes- one of the most beautiful sights I´ve ever seen. On the way to the lakes our driver turned off the van and we experienced the pull of the magnetic fields, rolling backwards up a hill, weird!

On Sunday we got up at 3am and took a bus to the Tatio Geysers- the world´s highest geothermic field. We had to go really early because that´s when most of hte activity is, plus we saw an amazing sunrise.The geysers look like a waterpipe that broke and huge columns of water shoot up from the ground at random times, you have to be careful because the water is above boiling point. We got to go in the
Another Lake...Another Lake...Another Lake...

We cut up our feet to take this picture because our guide said it would look like we´re walking on water. The ground of this lake is really cool salt formations.
thermal baths there, parts of the thermal baths were freezing when other parts were boiling. It was fun but not as cozy as I imagined and I completely stunk of sulfer when I got out. We stopped in the town of Machuca for empanadas and llama kabobs, the town had six inhabitants, yes, six. The same day we went to Valle de la Luna- a really cool part of the desert that is full of dunes and valleys that resemble the surface of the moon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Tatio Geyser Thermal BathsTatio Geyser Thermal Baths
Tatio Geyser Thermal Baths

Can you tell the hot water was in that corner? I don´t think I moved from that spot the whole time I was in the thermal baths. It was weírd, without warning the ground would go from freezing to boiling and burn you.
Fun FindingsFun Findings
Fun Findings

We were hiking around and came across really cool caves, this carving was the entrance.
LlamaLlama
Llama

My new llama friend, Macarena. She lived inside the house of one of the townspeople, which was actually pretty gross, the house was full of llama poop.
Antiplano LakesAntiplano Lakes
Antiplano Lakes

These lakes were the prettiest colors, from dark blue to green, surounded by volcanos.
Laguna CejarLaguna Cejar
Laguna Cejar

By far my favorite part of the Atacama- floating in the freezing salty waters of Laguna Cejar. Our bodies were covered in dry salt afterwards, I´ve never been whiter in my life!
Laguna CejarLaguna Cejar
Laguna Cejar

You would think the water would be warm here, since the air was about a million degrees.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sunset on the lake Deben Quinche, surrounded by saltflats.
FlamingosFlamingos
Flamingos

There were three types of flamingos there, none of which were standing on one leg... I was a little confused, thought flamingos stood on one leg.
Ringing the churchbellsRinging the churchbells
Ringing the churchbells

I felt like I was in a storybook.
Valle de la LunaValle de la Luna
Valle de la Luna

One of the most beautiful places to watch the sunset. The volcano on the left was my favorite, wish I could see that outside of my window everday!
DesertttDeserttt
Deserttt

This is about 3km outside of the busy part of San Pedro.
PukaráPukará
Pukará

Some of the last ruins of Valdevia... and my friend Coline!
On top of the world!On top of the world!
On top of the world!

Well, the top of San Pedro at least.


5th October 2009

great writing and Pics
Wow, what a great trip and I bet you took your books with you! Hey, your writing is really good...you should look at being a travel writer, then you could get paid for it too. Love to hear about your adventures, miss you...keep on trucking... Love Uncle Paul
22nd January 2010

Awesome
McKenzie... WOW!!! It has been really cool to be able to keep up with you and have an idea of what you are experiencing. The pictures are beautiful and I'm sure they don't do the senery justice... I think of you always. Stay safe. I Love You Aunt Yvonne

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb