One day was enough in Antofagasta


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a long, overnight bus we finally arrived in Bolivian, oops I meant the Chilean city of Antofagasta at about 10AM. Antofagasta has been part of Chile since March 23, 1873 and how do I know this information, because Bolivia still commemorates this day every year with military parades on this day. Losing the city of Antofagasta and the region around it was a big blow to Bolivia because they lost their coast line on this day and have been a land-locked country ever since. Bolivia has been begging for the coastline, asking Chile to give it back and honestly, Bolivians think that one day the Chilean government might turn around and say "Take it back, it is rightfully yours" and I know this because people talked about it all the time, including the Bolivian navy who I had a chat with one day. Well I can tell you that Antofagasta definitely does not look like a Bolivian city and if it were to become part of Bolivia someday that it would be the most modern city in Bolivia. However, I think all the Bolivian cities that I have been to, I like more than Antofagasta. Guess it didn't help too much that it was a grey day when we were there, we were all tired from the bus ride and two museums that we had thought of going to to kill some time were both closed for renovations. So we did a lot of wandering around and finally to kill some more time until our next bus to Iquique, we decided to go see a movie and then went to a restaurant to grab some dinner before jumping on our last night bus... well their last night bus, I probably have many of them still ahead of me. Anyhow, just decided to write a blog entry about Antofagasta so that my pictures have somewhere to go. Chau!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Univeristy LibraryUniveristy Library
Univeristy Library

I quite like the architecture of it. Of course, after going to Carleton and dealing with the library there, any library would probably look amazing!
Yah! We are safe from tsunamis here!Yah! We are safe from tsunamis here!
Yah! We are safe from tsunamis here!

I am not sure what those two dots are between the people though!


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb