BRUJO GLACIER


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén
January 17th 2013
Published: January 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

HEADING TO BRUJO GLACIERHEADING TO BRUJO GLACIERHEADING TO BRUJO GLACIER

ICE IN THE WATER
BRUJO GLACIER, SARMIENTO CHANNEL, GRAY CHANNEL, SMYTH CHANNEL AND STRAIT OF MAGELLAN - January 16.

I sleep with my drapes covering the windows leading to my verandah open, I figure who’s going to look in?, and awoke to see chunks of ice in the water. I got dressed quickly and went to the Crow’s Nest so I could see forward, port and starboard all at once. The view from my stateroom is great, but it’s on the starboard side. At 8:30 we were at the Brujo Glacier. The captain stopped the ship for 30 minutes and then turned around and headed through the Sarmiento Channel back to sea. The glacier was very impressive. The weather was cool but no rain and visibility was good. Lucky again!

After a light lunch I’m off to the “International beer tasting” event immediately followed by the “Cellar Master’s Premium Wine Tasting” event. It better be premium at $35. It was. The beers were Molson’s Canadian, Stella Artois, Heineken and Bass. The wines were a Chilean chardonnay, Veramonte, a California chardonnay, Ferrari Carano from Sonoma County, a Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Le Closiers an Australian shiraz and a Washington state Barosa Shiraz, Peter Lehmann. Went back to my room and took a nap before my Le Cirque dinner, very nice. After dinner I went to the Crow’s nest - not many people. I found out one of the possible reasons for sparse attendance at the bars is that a group of 400 Mormons are on board. I’m doing my best to help the bar staff keep above water. I also learned that my room stewards are responsible for 30 staterooms. I have a lot of respect for these people.

I went through the Gray channel, passed the Santa Lenor ship wreck in Smyth Channel and witnessed entrance into the Strait of Magellan.

Tomorrow, Punta Arenas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



17th January 2013

Almost Like Being In Love
WOW! These magnificent images make me want to sing: "What a day this has been. What a rare mood I'm in. Why it's almost like being in love!" You truly know how to live - carpe diem!

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb