NORTHERN PATAGONIA AND COYHAIQUE


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
January 15th 2013
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

JANUARY 14- PUERTO CHACABUCO, CHILE

I don’t know how I got so lucky; another beautiful, sunny and warm day! The guide said the weather was so unusually nice, we got to see a lot of things that are usually not seeable because of rain or mist. I took the tender to the bus and began the 5 ½ hour tour on time. The excursion write up says “Depart from Puerto Chacabuco on the legendary Carretera Austral to Coyhaique, the capital of the Aisen Region which claims breathtakingly steep peaks, glaciers, cascading rivers and grassy steppes”. It is an accurate description. I’m glad we had a good driver because the guard rails looked very skimpy and the steep and deep drops would have been impossible to survive. I can’t express the beauty of this place enough, but the towns and villages are not destinations except to see nature’s accomplishments. We also stopped at the Simpson River Reserve with curiously shaped, rounded hills that rise up to 6,161 feet and are surrounded by silent forests. On the way back to the ship we stopped for some snacks at a remote restaurant. It was very well done.

I rested for a while before going to happy hour and then dinner. After dinner I went to the showroom and was entertained by a very funny, and clean, comedian. Actually, I had seen him on my trans Atlantic cruise last year. After that I went to the crow’s nest to watch the scenery and listen to the DJ and some karaoke singers. Sunset was around 9:30 but I could still see the profile of the mountains at 10:30. Spectacular moon and stars tonight!

Tomorrow is day six already and formal dress for the dining room. The jury is still out whether I will participate. There are a few events during the day that I will probably attend. One is a celebrity chef talk and demonstration and another is a basic Spanish class.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

PATAGONIAPATAGONIA
PATAGONIA

SCENIC VIEW
COYHAIQUECOYHAIQUE
COYHAIQUE

REGION CAPITOL
PATAGONIAPATAGONIA
PATAGONIA

CASCADES OF THE VIRGIN
PATAGONIAPATAGONIA
PATAGONIA

RESTAURANT
PUERTO CHACABUCOPUERTO CHACABUCO
PUERTO CHACABUCO

LEAVING PORT


17th January 2013

Shaky sunsets
Hi Chuck! I finally figured out how to send a comment via your blog. I sent one earlier to your email address. :-( Anyway - LOVING the photos and "travelling" with you. The sunset seemed shaky...and made me laugh picturing you holding a camera after all the beer and wine tastings! Stay safe - and have a glass of red on me! Melanie

Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb