Farewell to Patagonia


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
April 16th 2012
Published: April 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Carretera AustralThe Carretera AustralThe Carretera Austral

Linda and I on the Carretera Austral (The Southern Road) when she came to visit me during her spring break. Damn, I have some good friends...
Before hitting the road, I had worked 3 months at a hostel (www.patagonia-hostel.com). The reason being 1. so that I could improve my Spanish, and 2. so that I could become a little bit more assimilated before I set off to travel by myself. After several goodbyes and toasts, I was finally sitting on the plane to Santiago. There, I had an American from Flagstaff, AZ, next to me (check out his website at www.rioslibres.com). This was somewhat coincidental, because I had worked in Prescott, AZ, for a couple of summers. Furthermore, James Q, as this Arizonian is named, spent the previous day with a mutual friend of mine (this will become a theme, I am sure). We chatted the entire trip to Santiago exchanging stories. But despite the distraction of conversation, I felt that I was leaving something behind, but in a good way. I had become a little bit freer, a little bit more independent. Less scared of what this southern continent holds, I felt like I had gained the needed confidence and experience to head out and make some dreams come true, or at least see if some cliche experiences would come my way.

Advertisement



18th April 2012

Amazing Travels!
Claudia, I love living vicariously through your travels. Your blog is well written and descriptive. I hope you allow me to travel along on your future adventures! Keep writing!
6th May 2012

thank you! please keep reading and feel free to share with others!
6th May 2012

chilllllllll

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb