Picnic on Simpson River


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
November 14th 2010
Published: November 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

There are few beautiful Spring days in Patagonia where the sun shines with no clouds around and the temperature rises to a comfortable 15 degrees. We've had a full week of those. To celebrate, my host family decided to have a cookout and eat outside on the backyard. We ate sausages, hot dogs and pork while enjoying the nice but strong Patagonian sun. Note to self: wear sunblock otherwise you'll get burn after an hour outside.

On Sunday my host dad had the wonderful idea of having a picnic outside by the river. The kids got so excited they put on their bathing suites and decided that they would go in the water. I, of course, followed and got in the second most freezing water I've ever bathed in my life (first was Vermont in late Spring). I swam in a Patagonian River in Spring... have you?


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Back of the houseBack of the house
Back of the house

My host mom preparing the food. Next to her you can see some of the wood we use for fire. When I got to Coyhaique, the stack was higher and went all around the house!


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb