Snow in August


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Being from the Northern Hemisphere you always think of August as the hottest month of the year. Of course, here in Patagonia it's reversed. On Thursday, August 26 it started to snow and didn't stop until almost 48 hours later. By Saturday morning the snow had stopped, the clouds were gone, making it a beautiful day. You could see all the mountains around the city covered in snow. Patagonia truly is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I couldn't resist the temptation and went outside with my host brothers and spent the entire day playing in the snow, something I've never done coming from an island in the Caribbean. We made snow angels, had snow ball fights and build castles. I felt like a 5 year old going through my first snow experience.

The beautiful days continued. Yesterday when I woke up it was yet again a beautiful day. The snow was beginning to melt. I continued with my regular day of teaching classes and while I was walking with my kids to my classroom it began to snow. The sky was clear. There where only a couple of clouds around the mountains tens of kilometers away. Weird. It was sunny and snowing at the same time. I guess what they say about Patagonia having its own climate is true.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb