DAYS LEADING UP TO BRAZIL


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
January 21st 2011
Published: January 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

JANUARY 19th---Yesterday and today have been absolutely miserable! I have been sea sick now for over 24 hours. Yesterday all I did was sleep and throw up. I had two classes which I had to walk out of in order to puke and I think I slept for a total of 8 hours throughout the day. School work is starting to seem very difficult because I can’t get my body to physically do any homework let alone get out of bed. Today has been a little better though. I somehow woke up this morning and went to both of my classes and even made it up to the pool to just do some reading and socialize with other people. Tonight we are pulling into the Amazon so I’m hoping that the sea starts to calm down. We don’t actually get off the ship to explore Brazil until we get to Manaus, which will be on the 23rd. Today I met the executive dean, Dan Garvey who used to be one of the faculty members at University of New Hampshire and also was the associate dean of student affairs at UNH as well. He apparently recognized me from the hallways (I was wearing a UNH sweatshirt) a few days ago. While I was sitting out on the pool deck he came over and sat with me. Unlike being at UNH, it was weird to just sit at the pool deck and eat snacks with my executive dean. Anyways feeling queasy again, so I guess this ends my blog entry for today. Hopefully I’ll feel better soon.

JANUARY 20th---Today has been great. First off, the ship pretty much stopped moving….so I feel amazing! I finally had a chance to lay out at the pool and actually enjoy it. The view was so cool because you could see the Amazon all around you. The water is kind of dirty looking but I guess that’s what you call a natural river. I swear I’m not in Jersey! Anyway, I finally got pizza (which I have been craving!) and I got to play ping pong! Sadly, I couldn’t sit out at the pool all day because I had to go to my classes. It wasn’t until tonight that I realized that my entire body was completely burnt. Well…it had to happen at some point on this trip! Tonight we were playing Taboo in the dining hall when a girl with a camera told us we had to see a bug that was at the pool deck. All day we have been seeing BIG bugs from the Amazon on the pool deck (and let me tell you, I am NOT a fan!) This bug in particular was a giant beetle. I wish I could put up pictures right now to show all my readers (promise I will when I get home/find an internet café somewhere). Anyway, if anyone has a Vera Bradley wristlet (because that is what is in front of me)….it’s body was that size!!! What else can I use as a comparison…..it’s body was the size of my hand pretty much! I got to give credit to some people for touching it (CHARLI whoot whoot)! After heading back inside I realized that there were horse-flies on the light fixtures that were coming down and biting us. Charli was a pain and kept using her fingers to pretend bugs were on me….again I was NOT a stable person! As for the mosquitoes….I’m just glad I started my malaria medication and have bug spray. I guess I can only pray that I don’t get sick. I got over 10 bites in Dominica and I used DEET lotion (that wasn’t even a malaria zone). I guess camping is going to be fun….something tells me I will be up all night with a flashlight. I’m not entirely sure where I will be camping yet. I think it is down to 3 options, either a hotel, tree house lodge in the Amazon or a beach. Trying to plan Indy trips on the ship is really challenging because you have to find a group of people who want to do what you want to do, and then you have to figure out stuff like directions or descriptions of activities without the use of the internet. I never realized how much I use and rely on the internet….it’s insane! I’m hoping it all just works out. For my Global Studies class I have to conduct research in Brazil on health care systems and diseases. Hopefully I will find people or medical places where I can interview some locals. After I get back on the ship I’ll try to let you all know how that goes. As for our first day in Manaus I plan to wonder around the city, see the sights and later that night go out to dinner. I’m really excited!!!

JANUARY 21st--- Woke up this morning to see the same thing outside my window…only this time the trees seemed a lot closer. Today is the last day of classes, and then we have a “reading day” before docking in Manaus. This is my second day without any sea sickness problems and I am one happy camper. I’m really excited because this morning I found out I got into some trips I wanted to do. I’m doing this one trip where we walk with cheetahs and then go on a wine tour. Apparently Cape Town has amazing wine. Not to mention I’ve never been on a wine tour, so I’m very excited! I’m also going through the Cu Chi Tunnels in Vietnam (long history----so if you don’t know what they are look them up. It’s actually really interesting). Anyways, I think everyone on the ship is really excited to just get to Brazil already. I love sea life but it does get very repetitive and everyone gets way to eager to discover the next port.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb