Happy 4th of July!


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cooking hotdogsCooking hotdogsCooking hotdogs

The longest hotdog cooking stick ever
Happy 4th of July everyone! I hope that all of y’all had a great holiday and were able to spend it outside watching fireworks.

4th of July just isn’t quite the same when you are in a foreign country. My day started out getting on my bus in the morning and having it break down half way to my work. Everyone on the bus had to get off and get on another bus which we rode for about 10 minutes, then that one stopped and we all got off and got on a second bus. The new bus dropped us off about a mile away from where I work but thankfully the girl who sits next to me in the morning (remember the assigned seats) goes to the same place as I do for work so I just made sure I followed her and it turned out okay.

On the way home from work the bus broke down AGAIN, but this time there was not another bus 5 minutes away that could pick us up. Instead we had to wait for over 30 minutes for a bus from a sister company to come and pick us up. Things ended up okay, but it was just not the best day to be delayed since the whole family and I were going to drive out to the orphanage to celebrate for the 4th of July.

Finally when I got home (nearly at 8:00 and the bus picked me up at 5) the family and I jumped in the car and drove out to the same orphanage we went to last Friday. A group of Americans arrived at the orphanage on Thursday to pick up building the house where the last group of Americans left off. Because there was a group of Americans there, the man who ran the orphanage wanted to have a 4th of July celebration for the Americans so they could feel a little bit at home and so he invited me to come back as well.

We arrived at the orphanage around 9pm where they already had a bond fire going in full force complete with cooking hotdogs on a stick. They let me cook my own hotdog and gave me the longest piece of bamboo I have ever seen to cook with. They kept calling me “Pescadora” which means fisherman because of how ridiculous I looked. I chatted with the Americans for a while, they are a youth group from Connecticut and it was everyone’s first time to Brazil.

All in all it was a good time, the kids were having fun shooting off fireworks and I introduced Neil and Marlida into the wonderful world of roasted marshmallows. I think at first they were apprehensive of eating a black jumble of mess, but they all loved it and said I was a professional marshmallow cook. Haha.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb